Don’t sabotage your sleep

Woo hoo! I’ve had nearly a week of being in bed by 11pm and falling asleep immediately. And today I slept until 6.45am – nearly 8 hours.

Here’s a checklist of things that you may need to address if you to get a better night’s sleep,courtesy of my new book, Ultimate Wellness: The 3 step plan:

1. Fix medical problems such as pain. I often have back or neck pain or both and they do make for a restless night’s sleep. If your are on medication, check if side affects include disturbing sleep. Did you know that high doses of Vitamin B will keep some people awake. So even vitamin supplements can affect your sleep. Who knew?

2. Nutrition. Apparently you sleep better if you are in a healthy weight range. Tick for me. And you should avoid eating a large meal too close to bed time. Sometimes a tick. Because of the timing of yoga, I have to eat late one day a week. Foods which are high in tryptophan will boost melatonin levels. So you may want to include foods such as seaweed and milk.

3. Smoking. I don’t smoke so I am not getting the nicotine which impairs the ability to go into a deep sleep. Nor am I increasing my risk of snoring as smoking inflames the soft tissue in the throat and nose. So if you smoke, this maybe another reason to quit.

I’m going to be writing about sleep for most of is month,until sleeping well is my new normal. So if you have no issues with your sleep, you may want to pop back in April, unless you want to see how my daily decluttering is going.

Today’s decluttered item = a pair of sandals. I have 4 pairs of flat sandals. Flats don’t suit me because I have puffy ankles (thanks Mum). This pair are the most comfortable I own and look the best on me. I have had them for well over a decade and they have been repaired three times. The strap has just come out again. I thought about another repair job but the base is looking tatty and I am too old to be walking around in tatty shoes. It doesn’t look boho chic; my youth no longer adds beauty to whatever I wear (or disguises what I am wearing as the young look beautiful in anything). So I sadly say good-bye. I don’t think I will ever be able to buy a Made in Australia sandal again!

20130316-075610.jpg

2 thoughts on “Don’t sabotage your sleep

  1. I am one of those people who fall asleep 10 mins after going to bed, and sleep all night without stirring, no matter what cat fights are going on outside the window. It annoys my insomniac husband terribly. I’ll keep reading so I can tell The Man the results of all your research. You can imagine how much he will enjoy being lectured on sleep by me!
    Glad that your new habits seem to be working though, and you are sleeping longer. Well done you. Breaking old habits is so difficult.

Leave a Reply

