See the light

Years ago my GP said I needed to sit outside in the sun for at least 15 minutes in the morning. This was to help reset my body rhythm. Staying up late with all the artificial light of TVs and computer screens, and then not being outside but working indoors all day, was contributing to my poor sleep patterns: not being able to sleep at night and then feeling very tired in the morning. My GP said that sitting in the shade or looking through a window was not enough. I needed my eyes to see the bright light.

I forgot all about this advice until I read Prof Phelps’ advice for people who may have trouble getting to sleep. She advises bright morning light. (And for people who get sleepy very early in the evening but wake up too early, she advises exposure to light in the early evening.)

I am going to start this again. Maybe have my breakfast outside, or go for a short morning walk. Luckily I live in a sunny, warm part of the world. Even in winter, when it might get down to 0 Celsius at night, it is often sunny.

Give it a go and let me know if it works for you. Has to be better than taking pills!

Last night I was in bed at 11, with my new routine done earlier. I slept immediately but woke at 3am, with a bit of a tummy ache. Couldn’t stop my mind from thinking, so didn’t sleep again until around 4.30. Then slept through until 7. So I had 6 1/2 hours sleep.

Today’s decluttered item = a shirt. I bought this a few years ago and wore it quite a bit until I bought a different white shirt that I liked more. The material of the body is stretchy and has changed colour. The collar and cuffs have stayed white but not the material with lycra or whatever it is that makes it stretchy. OK, you might not see any difference but I am very fussy about how white my white shirts have to be. I have soaked this in Napisan. It hasn’t come up to my liking, so no use cluttering my wardrobe as I will never wear it again.

20130317-192557.jpg

Leave a Reply

