The Four Agreements by Don Miguel Ruiz

20130504-160509.jpg

This is not technically a book review, more another post on my journey of self-improvement, focusing on coping skills or emotional well-being.

But I do strongly recommend this book.

Don’t know what it is about four when it comes to emotional well-being – Dr John had the 4 Fs and the 4 aces. Ruiz has the 4 agreements.

These four agreements are, I believe, great principles to live by. Maybe I can count them towards Dr John’s fourth F, ie faith?

Ruiz does go on about the ancient Toltecs and their special knowledge. Look, no offence, but I don’t believe in any of this new age mysticism, that somehow ancient races, but not Western ones, have “The Answer”. (God, I found The Celestine Prophesy one of the most tedious books I have ever read, and The Witch of Portobello equally tedious and ridiculous.)

However, the statement that these principles embraces spirit, as “a way of life, distinguished by the ready accessibility of happiness and love” is my idea of spirituality.

And two of the agreements have helped me be less reactive to people, especially negative and highly critical people.

I will write about each agreement in my next four posts.

Now time for today’s log:

  • 1. Did I have a laugh today?
  • Yes, played an old board game for the last time, before it was given away, with my sons.

  • 2. Did I give someone a hug today?
  • Yes.

  • 3. Did I do a relaxation activity, such as read a book, have a bath, light a candle, dream, call someone and have a chat, sit in the sun?
  • Yes, lit a nice smelling candle and had breakfast using my nice crockery.

  • 4. Did I do something good for someone else or be nice to someone?
  • Listened to my father-in-law’s stories and maintained attention and interest.

    Today’s decluttered item = an old favourite board game. My sons only wanted to play it when I said I was giving it away. It has sat high on a bookshelf gathering dust. One son said, “You are giving away my childhood.” Well, the memories can remain, and we have other board games. After two games, they both agreed it was fun to play but could go to other children who may play it more often.

    20130511-123934.jpg

    2 thoughts on “The Four Agreements by Don Miguel Ruiz

    Leave a Reply

    