Ruiz’s First Agreement

20130504-220956.jpg

Impeccable means without flaw. It comes from the Latin for without sin.

So what does this have to do with words and emotional well-being?

20130504-220437.jpg
And what does this mean?

This means to use your words to plant positive seeds in others. Don’t focus on the negative. “I tell it like it is” is an excuse to be negative and create a negative reality. Don’t use language to create flaws or spread negative emotions such as anger, revenge, hatred. Against yourself as much as against others.

You may have heard of self-fulfilling prophesy. When you say something will happen so you create it. An example is saying you can’t do something, so when you “try”, you believe you cannot do it and you fail. Or the child who is constantly told he is dumb at Maths, always giving up because he “cannot do Maths”. Words have power. Power to create reality and power to hurt.

Now we come to the big gun in our daily interaction with others. Gossip!

Ruiz likens gossip to a computer virus – it spread and does harm.

Gossip is like the spreading of poison. A poison that hurts those being spoken against – as gossip is often half-truths or lies – and those who gossip as it creates a negative mindset, one which opens you to negativity. And, of course, if you gossip, people know that about you: that you are a gossip, a teller of tales, not to be trusted, one who speaks ill of others and who will just as easily speak ill of the person being spoken to as soon as that person leaves.

So use your words to share love – love for yourself and love for others.

Now time for today’s log:

  • 1. Did I have a laugh today?
  • Yes, time for some self-deprecating humour and time to laugh with others, and evil cow that I am, laugh at others.

  • 2. Did I give someone a hug today?
  • Yes.

  • 3. Did I do a relaxation activity, such as read a book, have a bath, light a candle, dream, call someone and have a chat, sit in the sun?
  • Yes, watched a favourite TV show.

  • 4. Did I do something good for someone else or be nice to someone?
  • Listened to a heart-wrenching story, offered advice and gave support to a family in need.

    Today’s decluttered item = inspired by Claire I have had another go at my bedside table. A screw, a mini peg. I mean really? Where did these things come from and why did I think I should keep them? A receipt and local newsletter I can understand, but how does junk collect?

    I have a looooong way to go to reach Claire’s minimalism but after disposing of these items from the top, I now have a much nicer tabletop. I also put things back to where they are meant to live but had lazily been left by me on the bedside table. One day I might be ready to show my actual table!

    20130513-210019.jpg

    I also gave away a little tourist knick-knack that was given as a gift. But no photo.

    Leave a Reply

    