Back sliding

I got one of these as a gift:

20130516-080057.jpg

It’s a heated blanket, or throw as they are now called. Don’t be fooled by the picture. No one sits with this beautiful, warming blanket on. You put this baby on and lie down and immediately fall asleep. It is evil, I tell you!

And what, prey tell, does this have to do with back sliding, you ask!

So glad you asked. Well, let me tell you what this evil throw has done.

Remember I had the bad habit of falling asleep on the lounge? My focus for all of March was improving my sleep.

And I was an outstanding success.

I identified my triggers, removed obstacles and stayed focused. Every time I was sleepy, I took myself to bed and was sure by the end of March I had broken the habit of falling asleep on the lounge. All of April my new habit was well and truly in place.

Until my back went out again a few weeks ago! Extremely immobile, every time I rolled over in bed the pain would wake me. So my sleep became disturbed.

And then last weekend I got this heated throw! I haven’t made it to bed every night this week until after 12, after falling asleep on the lounge.

So as much as I love this blanket, for my own good I will pack this away. And bring it out for cold weekend afternoons, when reading, watching DVDs, or dozing are on the To Do List.

But I am like an addict, and I can feel the call of this throw. Did I tell you it comes with a timer and seven heat settings.

No, walk away from the cupboard, Lucinda. Walk away. Now!

Now time for today’s log:

  • 1. Did I have a laugh today?
  • Yes, with my sister-in-law. Lookie here, this made me laugh: what the?

  • 2. Did I give someone a hug today?
  • Yes.

  • 3. Did I do a relaxation activity, such as read a book, have a bath, light a candle, dream, call someone and have a chat, sit in the sun?
  • Yes. Read a chapter of a book in peaceful silence.

  • 4. Did I do something good for someone else or be nice to someone?
  • Drove and accompanied a family member for a medical procedure.

    Today’s decluttered item = advertising material from a conference I attended in 2012. As I am about to attend this year’s conference, I thought it was about time I sorted last year’s material. After all, I haven’t looked at it since, nor used it so into the recycling bin. I read an interesting post on 365 Less Things about using the floor as a storage space. It made me do a double take. Yes, I do that. So out with unneeded things. Don’t store them. Don’t hang onto them. Don’t make your house cluttered, uncomfortable and messy.

    20130516-175019.jpg

    5 thoughts on “Back sliding

    1. My cat has a throw just like that. She is very old and spends all day snuggled up asleep. It is on a timer so it comes on as it gets dark and goes off in the morning.
      She loves hers as much as you love yours.

    2. That is indeedy a lovely blanky. So sorry you have to hide it (maybe better if you ask someone else to hide it for you? My problem with the chocolate is that I still know where it is, even if I have to get the stepladder out to get to it…
      I am with you with the clutter on the floor thing. I am much better than I used to be, but still have this natural inclination to pile up clutter on the floor (to deal with later..) My solution is to have two drawers in the hall table for paper clutter. Of course, they fill up, but at least it’s not on the floor, or the table, or the kitchen bench. This does mean that many mornings someone is hunting wildly through the drawers for some school permission slip, or the car rego forms..

      • Oh, Jo, I can’t get anyone else to hide the blanket. I know all the spots in this house and am the one who puts most things away. Same with chocolate. Unfortunately, my eldest is finding all my chocolate hidey holes. And I know the mad “where’s that piece of paper search” dance. Am doing it myself for a receipt I know is somewhere safe, in one pile somewhere. (When piles get too big on one of the dining room chairs, I move the pile to the “junk room” (which used to be called the computer room).

    3. My very old cat has a blanket just like that. She spends her days suggled up asleep. I’m sure she would understand how easy it is to fall asleep.

    Leave a Reply

    