The fourth agreement: Always do your best.

This agreement is similar to Dr John’s Ace of Spades – learning and working and getting better at something.

And know that your best won’t always be the same – you may be tired, sick, upset and cannot do the same as when you are refreshed and alert. Doing your best means that it is the action, not the reward, that you focus in. So at work, it is not payday that you focus on, suffering the other days and trying to escape. You focus on the work.

Ruiz says the first three agreements will only work with this agreement. You have to know you will not always be impeccable with your word, you will sometimes take things personally and you will sometimes make assumptions. But you are doing your best! So don’t judge yourself, punish yourself, or feel guilty.

20130505-153243.jpg
Now time for today’s log:

  • 1. Did I have a laugh today?
  • Yes, at myself.

  • 2. Did I give someone a hug today?
  • Yes, my sons.

  • 3. Did I do a relaxation activity, such as read a book, have a bath, light a candle, dream, call someone and have a chat, sit in the sun?
  • Read the first chapter of a new book in a bubble bath.

  • 4. Did I do something good for someone else or be nice to someone?
  • Yes, nice and supportive.

    2 thoughts on “The fourth agreement: Always do your best.

    1. Lucinda I found you via 365 Less Things and have just spent some delightful hours (in between several household chores that could not be avoided) reading most of your archives. You will understand I know that reading something on favourite topics written in a warm and often amusing style will take precedence over virtually everything else!
      Looking forward to reading more posts in the future 🙂

      • Thank you for dropping by and for the compliments. You have made me feel quite clever.

        I cannot lie: when it comes to household chores, reading, even writing of dubious quality, takes precedence. Perhaps that is why I have a clutter problem, and a big black cloud of undone tax hanging over me?

        Hope I see you again!

    Leave a Reply

    