The Great Wardrobe Diet – Still going strong

20130523-224052.jpg

Well, I mean, really, who would have thought it?

5 months and I haven’t bought any clothes or any shoes.

One bra. But that is kinda needed to spend the day in comfortable decorum.

And I bought a necklace and 2 bracelets at a school fete. $10.50 all up.

People are saying I am strong but the truth is I have become weaker. I can’t bear the thought of going shopping. And at the thought of parting with money, I go weak at the knees.

Truth be told, I have become extremely tight.

God give me the strength to actually go shopping and part with my money in 8 months.

Wearing old stalwarts hasn’t stopped me getting compliments every week.

“Nice outfit. Thought you weren’t buying anything.” Why thank you. The skirt is about 10 years old and I thought I’d team it with a jacket from last year and a cardigan, worn as a top, from two years ago.

“Like your jacket, Miss.” It’s ASOS. Cheap as chips. But from last year.

I don’t feel deprived at all. I don’t feel the need for more, for new, for current fashion. Maybe it is because I have reached a certain age, but I know what suits me and what flatters me, and I don’t need to succumb to the latest iteration in the fashion stakes. I have so much. I have items of beauty and taste (and a fair few tacky and “why-are-you-hanging-onto-that” items). And I love how my skirts now hang with room to move in one section of my newly slimmed down wardrobe.

I doubt I will ever get my wardrobe to be as spare as Jo’s, as much as I admire her ability to pare clothes down. Still, 5 months of no spend has flown by.

Now I need to turn to my food diet!!! My June challenge is scary!

Now time for today’s log:

  • 1. Did I have a laugh today?
  • Yes, my Liverpudlian masseuse is a funny bugger!

  • 2. Did I give someone a hug today?
  • Yes. Not my masseuse!!! My darling husband.

  • 3. Did I do a relaxation activity, such as read a book, have a bath, light a candle, dream, call someone and have a chat, sit in the sun?
  • Yes, red, red wine. Stay close to me e e.

  • 4. Did I do something good for someone else or be nice to someone?
  • Listened to some, thanked another, praised another, apologised to another.

    Today’s decluttered item = I have been tackling my junk room. Piles have made it to the recycling bin. No photos but stay tuned!

    4 thoughts on “The Great Wardrobe Diet – Still going strong

    1. Thanks for the link to Jo’s blog – it’s nice to see someone’s wardrobe for a comparable climate. She is an inspiration, I feel like my wardrobe inventory a few weeks ago is HUGE comparatively!

      Good work on your shopping/clothes diet. I did the same the year I planned to buy my ‘home’. Eventually my father (I was living at home, where we communally launder) commented on the poor state of my underwear (and the parallels with my lack of a partner :p cheeky so and so). So once I was ‘out of the woods’ I went crazy at Target – so much so that I now have 45 pairs of knickers!

    2. Lucinda your 5 month shopping diet is very impressive – shopping your closet is a much better alternative I agree!
      It’s wonderful to receive compliments for clothing that has languished too long in one’s closet and/or is being worn in a new combination. When I did the reverse hanger thing to absolutely identify what I wasn’t wearing it also made me really assess why that was so. Usually I gave the item another chance by trying it with as many new options I could imagine but some went straight to the charity shop.

      • I still have a way to go, Megan. Aiming to have my clothes fit in existing storage and not buy anything for the whole year. But the saver in me wants me to keep the clothes I have, and I have too many.

    Leave a Reply

    