What are you eating?

The month of May was focused on daily activities for emotional well-being; doing daily coping activities as part of a healthy life. I have previously focused on drinking more water, improving my sleep hygiene, and doing exercise.

Due to some significant back problems, exercising has slid to the way-side. (And i so miss my walks as they are my de-stress time.) But this month I need to do what I have been avoiding since beginning this blog: look at my eating habits.

Some are good: I never skip breakfast, I don’t eat most fast food, I have porridge for breakfast Monday to Friday.

Some are OK: I don’t eat ice-cream regularly. I try to remember to eat fruit.

Some are bad: I eat too much processed or only-for-special-or-rare-occasions food. Food with no nutritional content, food high in fat. Milk chocolate, Nutella by the spoonful, biscuits, chips (as in crisps), cake, pastries, sausage rolls.

So I am going to track what I eat. I hope this will encourage me to make good decisions, to have healthy food ready rather than go for the snack food and to be more aware of what I eat and when. While I will make some changes, I am not going to hollus bollus change my diet, as I am not “going on a diet”.

Although I do hope to lose weight. I am back up to 68 kilos. I know I said throw out your scales, but other signs are also appearing that I need to lose some weight, ie waist is expanding again. Yes, I haven’t been able to exercise as I can barely move, but remember the words of Michelle Bridges: weight loss is 70% diet. So it’s more mindful healthy eating, but one that fits in with my lifestyle, my food tastes while recording where I am at now.

Finally, at the end of the month I will seek advice to ensure I am getting enough protein, calcium and nutrients. And what changes I need to do if I am not getting enough.

Please: no judgements. I will aim to be honest, and record the good, the bad and the naughty. I am not stupid. I will know when I have eaten something bad and won’t need telling that I should have not eaten it, or not eaten so much. I am aiming for some changes but more I am aiming to record where I am at now, what I do that has me at the slow incremental weight gain, so i can make small changes. If I record a diet that is not my normal eating plan, it is doomed for failure. I will return to my eating habits and gain weight as we all know diets don’t work.

7 thoughts on “What are you eating?

  1. Good luck with it Lucinda! Do you have a goal that you want your weight to be at by the end of the healthy eating month?

    • Hi TKaye. I just stood on the scales and I am actually 69 kilos. Gulp! My total goal is 62 kg. By the end of the month I will be happy with 67 kg, and ecstatic with 66kg.

  2. Good luck Lucinda. I agree, this is the hardest part of a life style change. We eat for many reasons and unlike smoking you can’t just give up. Recording what you eat is a very powerful tool.
    I’ll be watching – go for it!

  3. All the best hon. I am an inveterate snacker – I eat quite well, but I can eat ALL the time, which is not good for me. So I now have agreements with myself about when I am allowed to eat. Like, not between breakfast and 12, not before 3.30pm, not after dinner (I clean teeth with the 8yo). This is working better, but I think I’m going to have to institute an end limit for afternoon tea. Sometimes it morphs into dinner..
    I feel so much better if I am actually hungry when I eat.
    PS I put your blog on my blogroll, but it’s not updating. Sorry. I’ve tried it twice now, checked I have your homepage address, still not working. Will try again..

    • I’m smiling, Jo, because here’s another thing we share. I am a grazer. At work I can munch on biscuits all day. At home, on weekends and holidays, I have a very long breakfast, so long it is like a hobbit breakfast. First and second breakfast. Then I snack all afternoon. I actually don’t like three course meals because I don’t like to eat a lot at one sitting. Three courses at a restaurant would work for me if I could go out and do something between courses. After work snacking is another of my weaknesses. Like you it just morphs into dinner. I will adopt your early teeth brushing habit to stop the after dinner snacking.

      Re your blog roll. No worries. I don’t care and didn’t even notice. Happy that you stop by and comment.

Leave a Reply

