Eating out.

20130606-202306.jpg

I think it is probably just as well I don’t know how many calories are in different foods, or I might be a little worried today.

It was another very busy day at work – three mugs of tea before 12 noon.

  • Morning tea, around 11am: a slice of cheese cake. Mmmm! I know! I know! But it was somebody’s birthday.
  • Lunch, around 2.00pm: my usual. And 2 mandarins.
  • Dinner, around 6.30: Family dinner at the local Thai. I had a curry puff, a spring roll, a fish cake and a chicken satay stick. With different sauces on each. and a nibble on the lettuce and tomato on the plate.Some Tom Yum soup with two prawns. (Shared hubby’s bowl.) Two bowls of Massaman beef curry with rice and half a rosti. Very full!
  • No alcohol. I am trying to have Tuesdays and Thursdays free from any alcohol. And quite succeeding on this little challenge.

    But overall not a very healthy day. On the positive side, I didn’t eat the Pad Thai noodles. Apparently this is one of the very high fat dishes, though I suppose Massaman curry is high in calories with the coconut milk.

    5 thoughts on “Eating out.

    1. I do think it’s a mistake to count calories. So dispiriting, and a sure way to kill witty conversation. When I am trying to ‘thin’ I channel Audrey Hepburn. ‘How much would Audrey eat?’ I ask myself.
      And would Audrey be eating packets of the children’s school lunch treat chips on the sly? Possibly not.
      OK, that’s my confession for the day.

      • Yeah, I’ll try that approach. But possibly Audrey didn’t have to work an 8 hour day and come home to a messy house with dishes in the sink because son number 1 didn’t do his turn, and then have to cook for family. Oh OK, I’ll stop whinging and have a mandarin instead of a packet of Twisties.

    2. Mmm, Audrey probably had a housekeeper who cooked divinely. But clearly, only non-fattening divine things.
      Nice work re the mandarin.
      I bet when Audrey ate a mandarin, the housekeeper peeled it for her so she wouldn’t have to deal with that dispiriting pile of peel and pips.
      I would be a nicer person with Audrey’s housekeeper..

    Leave a Reply

    