Sustainable decluttering

Challenged by Jo to reduce waste (although I’d rather selfishly prefer to reduce my waist) and to move onto Sustainable Sainthood Saturday, I bring you a challenge.

What to do with this little number?

20130608-090557.jpg

Yes, it is a toilet seat, still in its wrapper. Bought because we were going to replace out existing seat, but the bolts were rusted on, and trying to remove them would damage the ceramic bowl. I do not wish to keep this little gem as, when I eventually get a new bathroom, I will not have a wooden seat. Of course, there was such a long time between my husband buying the seat and attempting the DIY job that the receipt had gone, so no returning it for a refund.

We have had said object hanging around my junk room for over a year. (One of the stranger objects to keep in a front room, I admit.) And I don’t want this hanging around for the next few years.

Here’s the challenge, rules and bylaws.

1. No Internet listing. I am not going to list this. So don’t tell me how easy eBay or freecycle or Facebook selling is. I have done eBay but this item will need pickup – it’s very heavy – and I don’t want people coming to my house.

2. I want it out of my house.

That’s it. Only two rules. Any ideas.

I had thought of reverse shoplifting. Taking the item, walking into the shop from which my husband bought it, placing it on the shelf and leaving.

I wonder what shop security would make of that?

5 thoughts on “Sustainable decluttering

  1. Yep I’d reverse steal it. If you weren’t weird about it you could take it to returns and they might give you store credit? Or drop it at an op (thrift) shop?

    I’d have otherwise said freecycle but I read the rules :p

    • I am not someone who normally feels shame or embarrassment, but there is something about returning a toilet seat (What? You suddenly realised you didn’t need it? You got it for a gift? Who buys a toilet seat and then doesn’t need it?) that does make me feel weird!

  2. I LOVE the reverse shoplifting idea. I see crowds of ‘unshoppers’ dumping their clutter right back where it came from..
    Do you have a salvage shop nearby?
    We have a builders’ salvage shop, and a charity furniture shop here, about five minutes’ drive away. I would happily drop it off for you on my way past…
    I can’t believe you quoted me on the Sustainable Sainthood Saturday… how am I going to live that down? 😉 It was very late when I made that one up…

    • See how clever you are, Jo? If you can make up such alliterative gems when tired, your creative genius is unparalleled.

      Just looked up this seat. It would cost $54 from the mega hardware store. I’m sure husband paid $30. Mmmm! Plotting, plotting. Might get husband to return it! (Not as much fun as doing a reverse shoplift which has boundless opportunities for regaling others with strange but true tales.)

Leave a Reply

