Old-school photos

No, not talking about photos from my school days, but the sort of photo-taking devices used back in the day.

Do you know how hard it is to get film developed these days?

“Film?” you ask. “Like from a camera?”

Why, yes. My decluttering has unearthed three 35mm cameras. Three! Not all at once mind you. I had two living in my clothes cupboard. Then I found a roll of film in one of those old tub things they came in. And then, while looking for something else, I found another camera with film still in it.

One of the cameras needed a new battery, which I had bought years ago too and which was living in my bedside table. Another was one of those single use cameras one of my sons took to a school excursion 6 years ago. The last one found was a manual one, in the sense that you turned the film in the camera yourself with a little lever. Young whippersnappers will not know of what I speak.

Older folk will remember how you took a maximum of two shots – no wasting expensive film and development. And the joy of knowing some family always composed photos to cut off heads or blur the shot. And then the anticipation, the angst of collecting the developed photos. Would they be OK? No taking a hundred shots, checking, deleting and repeating the shot until the participants are happy with how they look. And ah, the joy of remembering past events when the photos were as few photos were taken so the one roll would hold a host of memories.

Anyway, getting the films developed from two of the cameras was one of those jobs I procrastinated and procrastinated. And then it became harder. Not only Kodak has gone. Most of the photo shops have gone too.

Found a shop and got the film developed. Some shots were over 10 years old. The most recent was about 5 or 6 years.

Still have one roll to be developed.

And what about the cameras? I left them with the camera shop. Apparently older folk like the old-school way of taking photos and so are after these cameras.

So my decluttering of two cameras has not been at the expense of landfill. The single-use one, unfortunately, went the way of disposable items – all plastic and off to the bin. Three cameras decluttered and one lithium battery decluttered from my home!

Say goodbye to the camera I took on my grand tour of Europe back in the 90s.

20140106-155732.jpg

2 thoughts on “Old-school photos

  1. Ahhh…that sense of anticipation getting a film developed! Something kids these days really miss out on. Well done on decluttering the cameras out of landfill and into the hands of people who will enjoy them.

    • I know, the kids look at us with pity when we explain it, but they have no sense of the joy of anticipation. And I have no patience when people want to take hundreds of shots of the one scene or group of people. And I won’t sit through “slide shows” anymore. Too many shots. Give me your best 10, I say.

Leave a Reply

