So you’re searching for information?

Well, you’ve probably come to the wrong place. (Even though I was a librarian in a past life.)

Some of the search terms that bring people to me are pretty ordinary. They makes sense, if they are somewhat prosaic:

  • money goals
  • stay calm and don’t shop
  • oprah affordable fashion clothing
  • how different surfaces affect walking
  • breaking the shopping habit
  • lift some weights
  • Others are clearly the work of spammers trying to find somewhere to post a comment and thus have clicks to their site:

  • leave a comments on “exercise equipment ” wordpress blog :.com
  • But some really make me laugh! What was the thinking going on that made a person type them? What were they looking for? And were they disappointed when they got to my site? And why did the search engine bring them to me?

    Take this one:

  • my shoes are in a basket in wardrobe font feel organised
  • Quite specific: “shoes in a basket in wardrobe”. And I just love the typo of “font” for “don’t”, given my name comes from a misspelling of a font.

    And this one:

  • public feet – lucinda @ feet fair.com
  • Did they meet a lucinda at a feet fair? And what’s a feet fair? Do you have public and private feet? Just don’t get this one!

    What to make of this one:

  • lucina boat family
  • I’m not lucina. And I’ve never written about boat families. What is a lucina boat family?

    So who is Lucinda Denver or is there a Lucinda at Denver who is trying to eat mindfully:

  • mindful eating lucinda denver
  • I’m easily amused I know, but it often provides me with a smile when I see what people have used. Bother Google blocking us know what people use to search that leads them to our blogs.

    What funny terms have brought people to your blog and what do you think they found what they were looking for?

    9 thoughts on “So you’re searching for information?

    1. I wouldn’t even know where to look to find out! And wouldn’t care how they got there but it would be nice to know if they enjoyed it when they did. I have sometimes not used a title as I thought it might come up in a dodgy way somewhere…
      Barb.

      • Barb, don’t know if blogger has it, probably somewhere. But WordPress, which I use, has the searches used to come to your blog on the same page as other stats, eg what country they came from, which posts were clicked on etc.

        And yes, titles are sometimes hard to come up with.

      • Barb, if you sign in to Blogger and look on the left hand side, you should see an option for Stats. Click on it, then underneath that, click on Traffic Sources, and it’ll show you what people use to find your blog. 🙂

    2. Oh yes, I love to look at these! I don’t think I have any hilarious ones to add since last year . . although I did get several searches for “hockey rugs” in January. And “beds.or.grass.” last week – not sure what the significance of the periods in between the words is. I’m guessing these people were disappointed by whatever they found on my blog haha 🙂

    3. I had one the other day that just took another person’s comment, and ‘spun’ the words – so many words were synonyms, but didn’t match the context. It was coherent and incoherent all at once!

      Often I have comments on old posts from people hoping for links. If they are sensible enough, I allow them, but often I can’t be bothered replying, cause I know they aren’t a likely reader…

    4. I once posted a photo of Aaron Taylor Johnson when I had seen one of his movies, and people have been coming to my site looking up his name ever since. They are probably disappointed it’s not a fan site.

      • OK, admit I had to look up who Aaron Taylor Johnson was. Didn’t help.

        My largest draw card has been my blog about Oprah’s must have clothes. Don’t know that it would help anyone pick clothes.

    Leave a Reply

    