Whether the weather be good.

A recent post on an exacting life and the comments prompted this post.

What’s warm to you? What too hot for you? What’s cold? When do you feel the need to turn on the heater? Or layer up?

Here’s the weather where I’ve been for the Past 3 Days:

Mon Mar 17: Min 20.1°C, Max 36°C
Sun Mar 16: Min 21.8°C, Max 36.3°C
Sat Mar 15: Min 25.7°C, Max 40.9°C

40° is too hot for me. Even with humidity at less than 30%. The sun starts roasting my skin as soon as I step out. But even in the shade, it is too hot.

36°. Yeah, that’s too hot too. But the locals notice the 4° difference. And some wear jeans and long sleeved tops all day. I couldn’t imagine working outdoors.

I have to do a sort of reverse hibernation. Inside with air con.

I’m returning to my home which will be 28°. That to me is lovely.

Come winter, I do have many mornings when I get a deep frost outside. Starting the day with a chilly 5° is a little too cold for me. Australian houses are not built for cold conditions. I think we kid ourselves that we are really a warm place, a beach-loving place, choosing to ignore the season which shall not be named.

People think it unusual that we have ducted heated (but not air conditioning to cool in summer). I know many people who don’t really heat their home. They may have a little gas heater. And schools, well we make our kids stand outside for breaks come summer or winter, rain or shine. (Breed them tough we do.)

Fiona, how can you stand the “terrible cold” of Melbourne? (And those not from either city, may not understand that Sydneysiders think their city wins in everything compared to Melbourne, including better weather.) Do you find it strange that, although Melbourne is farther south than Sydney, it’s summers are hotter?

When it drops to 20°, I need a cardie. When in New Zealand last summer, I was a little cool, and wished I had some long sleeve T-shirts. Our host thought the weather balmy!

Ah weather! The unending source of conversation!

11 thoughts on “Whether the weather be good.

  1. Cough Cough, my car said it was 14 C on Monday morning (when I was driving over the bridge at about 6.50am)! It was chilly but nice.

    Sunday was lovely – though fair/rainy/fair again! The afternoon on Sunday was cool enough to make a walk enjoyable, but on the cusp of needing more clothes if I’d been standing still outside.

    I think I like 26 C as the ideal weather. I can handle cooler, and a touch warmer. But the humidity etc around 30 C and beyond is TOO MUCH! Again, dependent on what one is doing. No matter, I must wear long sleeves and long legs (pants) to work every single day, so I am thankful that both are ‘baggy’ to allow ventilation in summer. IN winter, we have a thick 100% wool jumper, which is surprisingly warm 🙂

    • I like it when the morning starts crisp and then turns out warm. Coming home yesterday I felt 10 cm taller as I wasn’t weighed down from the heat. Part of the difficulty I had where I was, was it didn’t get cool, not dropping to 21/25° until 2pm. Also it wasn’t much cooler in the shade because the air is so hot.

      Having a uniform must make it easy to get dressed in the morning!

  2. Hahaha! The Sydney and Melbourne rivalry…I used to think it was a bit of a joke, but when we lived in Sydney, people seemed *genuinely* sorry and concerned for us over the “arctic conditions” we endure in Melbourne, lol.

    For what it’s worth, I used to wear a tee-shirt / short sleeves nearly all year round in Sydney. I wasn’t trying to make a statement, I just didn’t think to put a jumper on.

    I’d rock up to school pick-up in short sleeves in winter (or at best, light long sleeves) and be absolutely mystified that the other mums were wearing gloves, scarves, woollen coats and jackets! They looked to me like they were going on a ski trip!

    I can’ remember it ever getting below about 15C by day…but admittedly, it does get down to 5C sometimes in the early morning or evening.

    It gets cold enough at night that admittedly, it surprises me that so many homes up there don’t have heating.

    We lived for 18 months without heating in our Sydney apartment. But of course for us as Melburnians that didn’t even register as an issue.

    I guess we Melbournians are just born tough 😉 😉 😉

    • I worked with a woman who had lived for a decade in Canberra. Come her first winter in the western suburbs of Sydney (where it is much colder than the coast), she wore sandals and light tops & skirts. We were all shivering and rugging up. She didn’t feel the cold for a few years.

      Do you think it itself-delusional, that most homes in Sydney are not heated properly? Though now with air con in so many homes, at least there is reverse cycle.

  3. I have a few relatives who moved to the Miami area (the bottom part of Florida – very close to the Caribbean) and didn’t experience temperatures below freezing for 10+ years. The cold was really tough on them when they came home to visit (and of course we had to tease them mercilessly for it).

    In the winter set our heat at 52° at night (11° C) and 59° when we’re home in the evenings (15° C), and that takes about a month to six weeks of getting used to. By mid-winter, I’m comfy at that temperature. But 5° with no heat would be cold for me too! Summer goes the same way – the heat and humidity become easier to stand about half way through. And I have to agree that 28° is a pretty perfect temp. Especially with a nice breeze!

    The one thing I’m super jealous of is your cool nights! You have a 15 degree difference between high and low temperatures (which is about 40 degrees F), but what kills me here in the summer is that on a 38° C day, the low will be fairly close – like 33° C. No relief!

    • Its funny how we acclimatise. When we have visitors from Europe we can’t get them out of our pool when we think it is too cold to even think about diving in. The visitors think we’re mad not to go in the water!

      Hate it when there’s no relief at night. As Fiona says we usually have a drop at night. In Sydney it would be rare that there were 3 hot days and nights in a row.

      I hate the heating on when I am asleep. Even down the snow, where the outdoor temp stays at about -2 to 1°, I turn the heating off at night and I open the window. Can’t stand stuffiness.

  4. Amanda – that temperature variation is a big point that people often don’t realise about Australia. We might have 45C days, but at least down south, the temperature often plummets overnight. It’s only a few days each year when we don’t get the cool relief overnight.

  5. Thanks for the link, L! Our weather is cool and rainy most of the time. Spring is rainy, summer is short, fall is perfect, and winter is long. Because everyone is used to cool, damp weather, the old-timers will complain it’s too hot in the summer when it’s 23 degrees! I am very happy in the high 20s and I agree with Sarah that 26 is the ultimate! Most people here set their indoor temperature to 20 in the winter. I can do that if I wear sweaters/layers, and would prefer it warmer. If it is 20 outdoors I bring a jacket.

    • Love the description of your four seasons! If I followed that model I think Sydney’s would be: spring is very short, summer is hot and humid, autumn is short and mild and winter is crisp.

      At 23°, the people from Central Aust where I just was, would be shivering. It is the in between weather that I don’t have enough clothes for and for which I find dressing difficult, especially for work where I can’t wear jeans.

      • Our spring and fall go from about 10-18 degrees…I like that weather because I can wear a long-sleeve button-up shirt or long-sleeve T-shirt with a blazer or lighter-weight cardigan, and not have to worry about the air conditioning being on at work!

Leave a Reply

