Magazines!

I have six magazines that I have collected from around my home – bedroom, bathroom (for reading when I have a bubble bath), lounge room.

20140415-101505.jpg

I don’t buy magazines but I have a friend who does and she passes them onto me. Actually that is not entirely accurate. One of these magazines I bought. The Queen’s Diamond Jubilee celebratory edition of Hello! in 2012. Don’t think I have read it in its entirety. But how would you know? These women’s magazines have the same stuff. You could just rotate through half a dozen and re-read each one every couple of months.

My body image is not affected by the models in the mags, not that the ones I have are full of half-starved waifs. Good Housekeeping tends to have more 40 and 50 somethings. I don’t become dissatisfied with my life due to the image of others presented. Actually, again that’s not entirely accurate. I do wish I could weekend or holiday in the places in the UK magazines. But a weekend in Cornwall or a week in Provence is not really in the list when you have to factor in a 24 hour plane ride.

My wallet is not really affected by these magazines. If I had bought these magazines I would have been $51.99 out of pocket. Seems an awful lot when you think they regurgitate the same gumf and are more advertising than informative. My friend doesn’t mind spending that money as she says the mags give her joy.

So today’s holiday job is to read through these mags and declutter them from my house. I’ll see if a neighbour wants them.

And you? Do you buy magazines? If so, do you ever use, act on or buy their contents – the recipes; the holiday ideas; the “101 Best Beauty Buys”; the “5 Key Pieces” of clothing; the advice to declutter, to make you life better, to find new energy?

13 thoughts on “Magazines!

  1. I rarely buy magazines. Like you I feel it is a waste of money. I do read ones passed on to me by friends and neighbours but that doesn’t happen often. Two of our local supermarkets, Waitrose and Sainsbury’s, give free magazines and they can be quite interesting. I often clip recipes from them and actually make them too! Made two new recipes last week and repeated one of them for last night’s meal. As I am a keen Patchwork and Quilter I used to buy a lot of Patchwork magazines. However I now find they are very ‘samey’ so have stopped buying those too. Several times I have decluttered my Patchwork magazines and sold them on eBay. That makes the original cost feel more acceptable! My husband is another story! He has subscriptions to the New Yorker, Which & The Oldie which he reads from cover to cover. These are all passed on to my brother-in-law ( and he circulates them amonst his friends!)so they are well read and justify the cost.

    • Your quilts are amazing, Linda. I understand craft magazines for crafting people. If that was me, I would borrow them from the library and photocopy or scan and save patterns and designs I liked.

      New Yorker is not repetitive like the women’s magazines my friend buys but I think I’d struggle to get through it before the next one arrives and would end up with a long pile of to read clutter. I don’t know the other two but it sounds like your family and friends get value for the cost.

      • Thank you for your compliment. So pleased you have looked at my quilts and like them. John reads avidly so easily gets through his magazines. However, I would be like you and they would stack up by my bedside in another pile of clutter! Sometimes John finds New Yorker articles that he knows would be of interest to me so he ear marks them. Of course they often don’t get read straight away and add to my reading pile! You can’t win with clutter!

  2. I grew up in a household that never had money spare to buy magazines, so it’s just not something I’ve ever done. I have heart palpitations at the thought of $51 on mags (but yet I’d spend that on champagne…go figure!) I think it’s just (as you say) the content is so same-same and I don’t think it’s good value for money. Women’s body issue things can also drive me a bit spare. Very occasionally someone will pass on a ‘Country Style’ or gardening mag. It’s a real treat to have a mag + bubble bath + champagne! (of course!)

    • Champers in a bubble bath and a mag to read. Love it. One of my Hello magazines is a bit wrinkly from turning pages in the bath. I catch up on the gossip magazines when I am at my hairdressers. She knows who every two-bit celebrity is and can answer my questions. Who is that? Why are they famous? Helps in keeping “with it” (though no one says with it) with the youngsters I teach.

  3. I get my magazines for free from a local recycling program or the library, but I wouldn’t pay full price for any of them except National Geographic (which I get as a birthday present, thankfully). Love that magazine! I agree that most women’s magazines seem to recycle their stories over and over, and since I skip all the pages about makeup, fashion, etc. it’s not worth it to buy those magazines. I will read them while I wait for the doctor/dentist though. 🙂

    • We had a subscription to National Geographic and the Australian version. Very interesting and enjoyable. Not at all like the repetitive women’s mags. I have to say I forgot all about the interesting ones when I wrote this post, having as I did 6 women’s mags to declutter.

  4. I used to be a big magazine addict, from teen pop stars to fashion to home decor to parenting. I have bought rock music magazines since I was 15 and only recently gave them up because the news in them is old by the time it’s published (have always read it first online). But when I visit the UK, I buy NME. At work I read Wired and Mental Floss. When I really want to relax I browse through Dwell and Azure!

    • Have to look up the ones you mention. You reminded me all about the ones I loved in past lives. I used to get an imported English one when I was in the last two years of high school – being into indie artists from the UK. And I was a Dolly fan when I was a young teen. Bit of a contrast alternative and pop culture! My local library stocks all kinds of mags but I know I’d end up with fines as I’d never get around to reading them.

  5. My first true magazine after my Bunty comic was Petticoat brought out for the 60’s teenager and I followed everything between the covers – the fashion, the makeup, the beauty routines and read all the teen problems. Since then I have had a very varied assortment from Ideal Home to Cosmopolitan, Good Housekeeping to My Weekly with the specials like Brides or Parenting as required at different times of my life. I have in the last few years settled on Country Living and Country Homes and I do read it cover to cover and use the recipes occasionally. I pull out ideas for our cottage and love reading about those small businesses that people have started. I also like the garden articles. I have been quite good this year – I have a subscription to Country Living and re-read last years as well and so far have not been tempted too much although I have sneaked the odd magazine into my trolley!

    • One holidays when I was about 12, I stayed on a farm. The offspring were all grown up and moved away. I stayed in a room two of the girls shared. They had the most brilliant collection of magazines from the 60s for young girls. Loved them and read them all. They couldn’t get me out of that room.

      My mother gets country living type magazines from op shops. I get a little disappointed when I see something I would like for my home but the supplier or the item no longer exist.

  6. Never buys mags, but my mother usually has one or two on subscription (Vogue and Country Living, sometimes Vogue living as well). I flick through these, but seldom would I buy one. I do have a work based Economist borrowing scheme, and I got three at once, and seem to be loathed to return one (semi read) whilst the other two are largely unread. I will buy the Economist for a international flight though – just helps pass the time, and mix it up with novels and movies. I even ‘tick off’ the article as I read them, to remind me – weirdo!

    I actually get to appointments a little early so I can read their ‘trash’. My physio (of course) has all the women’s fitness-y ones. The leg waxer, the utter trash! The allergist – stuff I didn’t know they made magazines about (ie boring ones!!)

Leave a Reply

