Damn you, privet!

Unusually warm weather (“Global warming! What global warming?” say our Tory leaders across the globe.) has meant the plants in my garden do not know they should be slowing down.

In my optimistic state I thought I would have “degardened” (aka as decluttering the outdoors; the more prosaic among us may just call it overdue weeding) most of one side of my back garden by now, and be ready for planting.

But no! It’s been much slower than I hoped and slightly slower than I more honestly planned. All manner of obstacles have got in the way of gardening – death, taxes, work, court case, reading, rain, lunches out, holidays, TV/movie/DVD watching, bad back, red wine/beer/bubbles.

Anyway, this weekend I tackled another sneaky privet plant. It tried to camouflage itself among my mock orange hedge, and, except like the cuckoo, it grew too big for its home.

Another green bin filled!

I wish I had some beautiful vistas, cause the before and after photos would not show how much work I’ve done.

One day, dear readers, one day!

In the meantime please content yourselves with some flowers from my garden. (If we focus on the detail, we can forget the big picture.)

20140518-170541.jpg

20140518-170557.jpg

20140518-170610.jpg

And then there is the prolific lemon bush. Neglected, never urinated on (nitrogen, you know), never pruned, often overshadowed; still it produces.

20140518-170754.jpg

That photo was taken after I picked masses of lemons, a shopping bag full to share at work and a centre piece for my table.

20140518-170852.jpg

And although the photo of the lemon bush doesn’t show it (couldn’t get the right angle) there is at least two more shopping bags’ worth of lemons.

I wish I had time for a vegie garden!

9 thoughts on “Damn you, privet!

  1. Sniff sniff – my lemon giving friend (who has a husband whose mates do the deed for them lol) is moving. Going to have to cultivate another one quick fast. – have you seen the price of lemons in the shops!!

    • I try to avoid buying lemons unless absolutely necessary. My biggest regret: that I let lemons rot on the ground rather than freeze the juice. My lemons are good!

    • Just got the line ‘mates do the deed’. Sorry, I’m slow. But yes, apparently it does work. Just told my husband about it. Think I might get more nitrogen down that area of the garden now.

  2. Ah…Sydney flowers! *Heart*!

    And I bought a lemon this week. I rely on my neighbour for lemons and none seem to be ready yet. I don’t want to think of the cost of buying them weekly!

  3. Hubby and I did some weeding this weekend too – they’re everywhere! It’s too cold for a lemon bush here, but fresh lemons sound fantastic! 🙂

    • The perennial question: why do weeds grow better than the plants that you want to grow?

      It’s always lovely to be able to send a kid down to the tree when you need a lemon.

Leave a Reply

