Other currentish TV series

Have I told you I like a good story?

We all do. Google “the importance of narrative”. (Bugger business taking over this need of stories to sell things.) But I digress, as you’ve no doubt come to expect.

Time for stories adds to a gorgeous life.

So what’s on my current watch list from beyond the equator, from the other side, or as the Poms call us, but equally refers to them from our, sunnier, perspective, the antipodes?

A mixture of light and dark. “Posh” soaps, period dramas, murder mysteries without too much explicit, gratuitous violence and gore. Some are recent for me, but may be a little while after their original airing. And yeah, many Pommie shows with some American shows.

George Gently, has the high production standards we expect from the BBC. How come the English can get the colour, tone, language, set, scenery, language, props, light so it feels like the show is filmed in the time in which the show is set? In this case in the 1960s in north-east England.

20140504-211903.jpg

Bleak and somewhat depressing, not just because the shows are about murder but because the recurring themes of loss and corruption. And because of the whole hard life presented of those in the N-E. (And if it’s even half-way realistic, I can see why thousands and thousands migrated. I’d jump at the £10 ticket to Australia.) (Oh, but I do love the accents on the show – Geordie, Yorkshire and other north-eastern accents.) But, of course, there’s moments of humour. Total bleakness never works.

20140504-214512.jpg

Much lighter, though with moments of sadness, is Call the Midwife. I love this show. It is so uplifting. I love the characters, all of them; the actors; the story-lines; the sets. Everything. Two favourite actors/characters – Chummy and Trixie. I love Trixie’s clothes and her hair – both the curly and he pixie cut.

Some shots of Trixie, just because.

20140504-214649.jpg

20140504-214716.jpg

20140504-214736.jpg

And as much as I love Miranda Hart in Call the Midwives, I love her in the show of her own name, Miranda, another BBC show. Funny, silly, amazballs, delcioni.

20140504-222835.jpg

Yes, I dabble in Downton Abbey but as posh soap as Call the Midwives is, Downton is too soapy. Though, of course, we all love the sets, the clothes and the jewellery. No shots for this show. It’s too soapy.

20140504-220124.jpg

A bit of enjoyable fluff is Death in Paradise. Why they need to import a Pommie detective is never really clear but of course is necessary for the plot, character development and central character chemistry. I love the “let’s get all suspects together to let them know who did the murder a la Poirot” ending. It annoys me that the female detective wears shorts and crop tops while all the males wear clothes that cover everything. The second guy has grown on me.

20140504-220043.jpg

While I prefer the earlier episodes with Caroline Quentin, I do like to watch Jonathan Creek. Scary enough for me, but never too gory. And it’s back again.

20140504-221721.jpg

Now, lest you think I only watch shows from a little isle off Europe, I also watch shows from the US. I watch repeats galore, but seem to miss new episodes, of The Big Bang Theory. Laugh? Haven’t laughed this much since Grandma died.

20140504-223756.jpg

Same with The Middle. I watch shows here and there. Don’t laugh as much as smile in recognition.

20140504-223733.jpg

And so it is with Modern Families. The occasional watching that is, not the smiling rather than laughing.

20140504-224001.jpg

Ewww. I watch an awful lot don’t I? But I miss a lot too. I forget they are on. Or I am out. And for most of the shows that’s fine. They will come back eventually.

The only one I don’t want to miss is Midwives. Luckily I can catch up on ABC iView. (Not doing bit torrents downloads as I’m a goody two-shoes.)

10 thoughts on “Other currentish TV series

  1. We recently started watching Modern Family and are really enjoying it so far. I relate to plenty of the situations and love the humor 🙂 And thankfully it’s a popular enough show that we can check out whole seasons on DVD from the library.

  2. Ah Death in Paradise – my parents got onto that in France, bought it from the BBC website directly. They just loved it! I think it’s a former British colony, but I’m not sure, that might explain the pom?

  3. Oh…I’m too deeply stuck in Game of Thrones at the moment to watch any other TV! I will have check out some of these because the only one I’ve watched is Modern Families (always funny and reliable TV de-stressor.) I always feel clueless when people atart on Downton Abbey as I’ve never watched a single episode!

  4. I’m a Midwife fan – it has finished here. I liked the first series of Downton now getting a bit too soapy – too many happenings in a short space of time!
    I’m now addicted to Gogglebox (english families watching and commenting on Tv programs) their natural reactions and comments are so funny I have a good laugh and it is uplifting in contrast to all the depressing muders that I watch in Lewis and Midsomer Murders.

  5. Agree with most (not The Middle!). May I recommend the TV series Stella. Starring Ruth Jones and other welsh actors, some of whom you’ll recognise. Main lead is Nessa from Gavin and Stacey, if you watched that one. Set in Wales, with lots of quirky village characters. A bit Hamish Macbeth meets Ballykissangel. Available at your local library!

    • LOVED Gavin and Stacy. Nessa was my favourite character. I have watched one episode of Stella. Not sure when it was on so missed the series. Will check out the library. Still have the last episode of Our Friends to watch. Don’t want to watch it cause then I have no more and the characters are truly gone.

Leave a Reply

