Shallow post warning

20140524-074416.jpg

I can’t stand when people use, in print or in voice, methinks.

[I warned you this post was shallow.]

I don’t care if people can’t spell, or can’t tell their colon from their semi-colon, or don’t know their there’s from one another but I hate the pomposity of methinks.

Methinks there should be a burning of methinks. It isn’t funny. Don’t use it.

‘Nuff said.

Except to say I’m not alone: see here.

(What irks you in current language? You’re not allowed to be all pedantic and bring up fewer/less; or be Mr Apostrophe Man; or say how people misuse uninterested and disinterested. You can say how you hate “gotten”, but. Or how people end a sentence with but.)

20140524-074401.jpg

12 thoughts on “Shallow post warning

  1. I’m a horrible Grammar and Spelling Nazi (except in relation to my own writing, of course. All my mistakes are ‘typos.’)

    The thing that makes me horribly snooty is not a particular word. It’s when adults in a work context use excessive exclamation marks!!!

    It’s even worse when there’s a bonus typo in between the exclamation marks!,!!

    Some people don’t like “mindful” as a word. Knowing this makes me mindful of using it and sounding too pompous.

      • Aha! That’s an awesome new word for me!

        What an abhorrent aberration. Whoever thought of it should be interrobanged out of existence (no punishment is too extreme for punctuation mutations.)

      • haha, Fiona – I’m guilty of using the interrobang. Usually to write a question to be said in shock or confusion. Love it!

    • I think the interrobang is an interesting development. I haven’t worked out how to do one on my iPad. (Sorry Fiona, I use exclamation marks and question marks together in this manner !?!!)

  2. I think I read too much 18th/19th literature as a child – I was always getting corrected by my teachers for long, overwrought sentences (that made sense and were grammatically sound, so I didn’t appreciate their hostility toward my 5-clause sentences, harumph). But now, as I read more and more informal writing online, I find my standards relaxing. (And I can usually write sentences of normal length on the first try!) Totes and adorbs are at the top of my annoying word list.

    • Love a sentence with lots of clauses. Just not if I’m marking students’ work. But I never got into Dickens as he can’t use a simple sentence. (But I hate Hemmingway partly because his sentences are too simple and he hasn’t been introduced to adjectives.)

  3. I like all trendy words, phrases and slang – not necessarily to use myself, but to see how other people use them. I like how they date people’s writing so quickly and they don’t even notice. Some of them do make me smile, for example, I can’t see “Oh hai” without imagining a cute kitten! Like Fiona, I really dislike extra exclamation marks. I am sure my writing looks very deadpan and unenthusiastic because I don’t use enough of them!!! My least favourite language is business/management-speak, overusing words and phrases such as “value-added” and “benchmarked.” I also dislike expressions that are too wordy, like “at the present time” instead of now. I could go on!

    • I join you in all your likes and preferences – except the dislike of extra exclamation marks. Can we draw cultural stereotypes? No, the use/aversion of extra exclamation marks transcends culture, age, education, gender. Rest easy, I don’t use them in formal writing.

  4. I am an enthusiastic !!!’er I’m ok with that… I don’t love faces that turn into yellow emoticons, especially too frequently in chat programs.

    I hate all those ‘business bingo’ phrases like ‘let’s talk about this offline’ – what’s wrong with saying ‘talk about it later’.

    I do read your every post, but I’m not a fan of nuff and luff. Please forgive me.

    I hated YOLO til I realised that’s it just for people who can’t manage the Latin carpe diem, and now I feel better :p (see, semi breaking my own dislikes)

    • Sorry about the luff. I always feel hesitant in its use. It’s not quite me. But the ’nuff, that’s me. But have to say, what really struck me about your comment is that you read my every post. Luff, I mean, love, love you.

      I don’t mind the occasional emoticon but won’t continue with a blog that uses one every sentence or paragraph. I have teenagers, so grow accustomed to silly phrases such as YOLO.

      And glad to see there’s a fellow exclamator!!!

Leave a Reply

