Another holiday?

Not really travel when I go back to the same place year after year after …

You may make judgements – don’t worry, I would – about someone who goes to the same place for every holiday. But it’s not me, it’s him.

Anyway, here we are for another year.

And the views? Well they haven’t changed much. But this year there’s been a shit-load of snow. Doesn’t mean I’ll ski anymore than I have in the past. In fact, I’m skiing less. But I did bring a host of books. Guess what I’ll be doing?

I will say it is lovely hibernating after a full-on term.

Some photos for your enjoyment. All views from my balconies and windows. (Yeap, even with the metre or so of snow and the sun, I didn’t go out.)

20140701-173656.jpg

20140701-173717.jpg

20140701-173740.jpg

20140701-173806.jpg

20140701-173830.jpg

20140701-173929.jpg

20140701-174001.jpg

12 thoughts on “Another holiday?

  1. Enjoy the break – just don’t break a leg ( unless you’re in showbiz that is). I won’t be coming to visit tho’ – snow is a four letter word best not mentioned in my house lol
    Cathy

    • If I ever lived in a place that snowed, Cathy, snow would be a four letter word too. But for this family snow holidays are breathtaking and fun. But expensive!

  2. As someone who spent 10 years of vacations at family reunions (always in the same place), I won’t judge! Do you stay in the same lodgings? I can see the appeal of wanting it to be the same every year – returning to the same views, etc. As in “the world keeps changing but here’s my oasis.” Snowy oasis! I look forward to hearing what you read – did you bring a big doorstopper book like The Goldfinch?

    • Not the same lodgings every year. We have changed depending on the number of people who come down and availability. We always pick places you don’t need an oversnow to get to, ie one you can drag your gear to.

      And yes, Dar, I brought a door stopper – 2013 Man Booker Prize winner, The Luminaries. 832 pages! And four other books – one I finished on the way down.

    • Not the same lodgings every year. We have changed depending on the number of people who come down and availability. Our snow trip used to be like a reunion – we had a dozen friends who used to come – some even returning from overseas to join in – but the years have moved on.

      We always pick places you don’t need an oversnow to get to, ie one you can drag your gear to.

      And yes, Dar, I brought a door stopper – 2013 Man Booker Prize winner, The Luminaries. 832 pages! And four other books – one I finished on the way down. You know me too well.

      • I have read about the structure of that book which sounds fascinating. And since it is NZ historical fiction, it sounds right up your alley! You’ll have to let me know if you think it’s worth the 16+ hours it would take me to read it.

  3. I’ve visited the same beach almost every year since I was born, so no worries! When we go now, it’s a complete no-pressure break – “we’ll do it next year if we miss it” kind of thing. Enjoy the rest and reading! The snow looks lovely. 🙂

    • I actually don’t want to come to the same spot every year and nearly chose not to come this year. But Mr Sans likes this place as it is one of the few real ski-in ski-out resorts in Aust. And it is uncrowded and friendly.

      But I am happy to not be alone in visiting the same place every hols.

  4. We’ve read that Vic and NSW have had big dumps of snow. Looks wonderful – love the pics! Hope you have a nice open-fire and a good wine to go with the books.

    • HUGE dumps, Fiona. Red wine – tick, books – tick, fire – 😦 We’re staying in a studio flat that doesn’t have a fireplace, but will have lunch at two different places that have lounges in front of a fire place. But only once at each place.

      It’s just that the Aust. snow fields are soooo expensive. In fact I think they are pricing themselves out of the market. There is hardly anyone here with the best snow I have ever seen AND it is school hols. Our studio rental is dodgy. The furniture is old and dated, the kitchen equipment likewise. And they are all the same – know so as we’ve stayed here in various “apartments” for over 15 years. And the price – it would make your head swoon.

      • Yes – the price is insane on the Vic snowfields, too. And my head is spinning right off at what we have spent on our holiday so far…!

Leave a Reply

