Weekend away.

I had a planned girls’ weekend away, but best laid schemes and such it turned into a couples’ weekend away.

I have just returned and am amazed at how leaving the burbs on a Friday afternoon makes a weekend away feel like a long holiday.

We just beat the real crush of Sydneysiders heading north. The luck of being able to duck off early and of living on the north side (or the outback as my son’s new girlfriend calls our suburb – she lives in a more built-up area with no towering trees as we have here, several train journeys from our stop. In fact it wouldn’t be too much of a stretch to say her suburb is all concrete. But I digress, which you know is what I do.)

Now I feel slightly surprised at my ignorance. You know how I like bubbles? And red wine? And nice things? And getting away?

Well, we went to The Hunter Valley, NSW’s wine country. Yes, well, I knew it was wine country and produces great reds. But I didn’t know it was so close to the top end of Sydney. Nor did I know it was so lovely.

OK, it was slightly touristy, and slightly crowded, and somewhat overpriced. But what do you expect when it is within escape distance for Sydneysiders?

In my conceptual framework I associated it with a loooong drive and the coach wine tasting tours I remember my parents going on in the 70s. Tacky, raucous.

But it was gorgeous. And less than two hours from my house!

The contrast with the nearest town that you have to drive through to get to the area we stayed in couldn’t be more marked in terms of class and money. There’s no mistaking to whom the wineries and restaurants and shops are appealing, and it is not the locals. Sorry, locals. I fall in the demographic and I loved it and I will return. We stayed here.

We drank bubbles (of course), visited some beautiful wineries, admired the scenery and the changing weather, drunk in the fresh air, listened to the birds, ate a flash dinner (pasta of a name I can’t remember with truffles and with something in Italian the waitress had to look – can you get anymore pretentious? What do you expect from a middle class weekend escape?), bought lovely things, resisted buying more gorgeous things (like a divine handbag, am I strong, or what?), bought lollies from the British lolly shop, watched the funniest crap on Foxtel (opps that doesn’t fit in, does it? But really it WAS funny and we had to let the food digest.), admired the cherry blossoms.

And made it home to go for a walk and do some mundane tasks like washing and ironing.

Some bad iPad photos for your enjoyment.

IMG_1894.JPG

IMG_1888.JPG

IMG_1893.JPG

IMG_1887.JPG

IMG_1900.JPG

IMG_1899.JPG

IMG_1895.JPG

IMG_1897.JPG

IMG_1901.JPG

6 thoughts on “Weekend away.

  1. Oh you live a tough life m’dear! What general area of Sydney (inner west for example) does the GF live in? A guest from Melbourne was amazed by how central we are, but then to hear birds and have big trees. Feels like we’ve got a little of everything here, just how I like it!

    I’m listening to the dryer tumble as the rest hangs on the clothes airer, having been for a run, made a curtain to black out the light for the precious BF, and button holes a cuff, as well as ironed… Mundane weekend, certainly today at least, but it’s what needs to be done! Winery tour though, sounds positively wonderful, and I could just leave from my very Northern office!

    • There’s been many a weekend spent at kids’ sport and around the house, and marking, and doing mundane tasks. Not that I regret any of it. Still it is nice to be at a different pint of our life.

      GF is near Mascot. Thinks Our northern area is soooo far away.

      Yes, do the wineries. Less than two hours from Hornsby. You could duck out of work early, best the traffic and breathe in the beautiful air and have a drink while watching the sun set. We saw lots of kangaroos as we drove in. We will definitely be doing it again. But not this year – Qld, NZ and UK have to be saved for.

  2. That is the most absolutely perfect thing to do at this time of the term. Keep everyone on a relaxed and even keel till the end of term. Looks absolutely beautiful!

    In all the time we lived in Sydney (2 years) we didn’t once make it out to the Hunter Valley and I really regret that. So many people have raved about it and I feel quite silly for not making the most of it while we could. But it leaves us with something great to do when we next make it up north!

    • I would definitely put the Hunter on the list when we have o/s visitors again.

      Fiona, you might not have visited the Hunter but you were only in Sydney for two years. I’ve lived here for nearly 5 decades, so have no excuse. You can always use our house as a vase if you come up to Sydney.

  3. How lovely! Wine country tours/tastings are getting really popular around here. I haven’t tried it but it sounds like a fun weekend getaway 🙂 And to relax and drink with a group of friends – even better! 🙂

Leave a Reply

