Where have you been?

Last month my mother said, “You’re too stressed at work.”

How did she make this conclusion?

“You haven’t been posting on Facebook or writing on your Lucinda thing.”

Yes, stuff and this and that have kept me more than busy, where stuff and this and that mean work.

Dropped my focus on health and well-being, dropped my blogging, even too exhausted to read. And then time passed and it just seemed too hard to start writing.

Rachel at Book Snob says it better than I could even think it. And my apologies for the poorly constructed asides.

“So, it’s December. Already. I’m sure I’ve read somewhere that life appears to speed up as you get older. [Yes it does, dear Rachel, but not only seems, it scientifically, actually does.] … Life just slips through my fingers like sand, and I am left at the end of a week, wondering how it can possibly be Sunday already all over again.

“One of the many joys of being a teacher is that no day is ever the same, but unfortunately each day is also a manic maelstrom of activity that sucks you in as soon as you step over the threshold at 8am and doesn’t spit you out again until late in the evening, when you emerge, slightly shaken, slightly confused, and wondering where the day went, and why you still have a pile of marking on your desk. … The speed of the day, and the pressure of having to perform, [having to make hundreds of decisions a day, piles of pointless paperwork and dealing with dickheads (parents, not kids.)].

“Reading has gone out of the window, because I’m finding it really hard to concentrate on anything. I’ve spent plenty of lovely weekends doing interesting things .., but I can’t find the energy or the creativity to write about them. .. So, this is just to say, I suppose, that I am here…just about, but you’ll probably have to wait until the Christmas holidays before you get anything like a decent post out of me. Hopefully I’ll have cheered up by then.”

And here it is. It’s Christmas. And I’ve cheered up. Took me a bit to get my tree done, and I didn’t put up all my decorations. But I have definitely cheered up.

A tree in lights! So cheering.

IMG_2092.JPG

And you know, being away always reminds me of the Will and Grace episode, where the two have drifted apart and Grace doesn’t know Will has been off dairy for two months. The message: you have to share the little things, the minutiae of life, and share it regularly, so connections and friendships are sustained. So stay tuned for more pointless blithering.

10 thoughts on “Where have you been?

  1. I’ve been in the same cloud of busy you have, it would seem! Hopefully you’ve taken to the books and the wine heavily in these past days off! I found Chambord… firstly for the trifle, but it’s also pretty good accompanied with the BF’s gift of a soda stream! I do love your tree!

  2. So glad you are back in the land of the living, L! I deeply enjoyed that description of the world of education: spot on.

    I hope you are almost at the point of kicking back, with a good book in one hand and glass of something-nice in the other!

    • Book in one hand, iPad in the other, TV controls resting on my lap. (A mass consumer of mass media!) About to have another glass of water. Don’t feel like drinking – just relaxing and kicking back at home.

  3. I think I need to start reading Book Snob! I hope you had a lovely Christmas. 🙂 My days off have been spent vacillating between organizing/cleaning and spurts of laziness (mostly to read, but also to catch up on a few movies).

  4. I immediately thought of Where’d you go, Bernadette? when I read your title. Enjoyed that book.
    Here’s a tip- something you can do with your ipad when you’re even too tired to read. I’ve just begun listening to the serial podcast (google it). Forty minute episodes, murder mystery – perfect for kicking back on the couch.
    My latest DVD series tips from the library? One from France and one from Italy: three series of Spiral and Inspector Sonieri.

Leave a Reply

