Things I’ve learnt – clothes washing

The washing powder in London seems heavily scented. More so than ours. 

Maybe it is to do with my previous post? (You know, the no washing thing.)

The sheets in our flat gave me a headache they were so heavily scented. 

And I smelt people’s clothes on the Tube. That horrid fake chemical scent. 

And on the TV they advertised a product that does nothing except add scent to loads of washing. Add the product as well as detergent to give a long lasting “fresh” smell. Vomit! That isn’t fresh. Fresh is having your washing dry in the sun and fresh air. That smell is headache-causing, artificial, fake, sickening. God, I hope it doesn’t take off in Australia. Please, don’t let it take off.

I hate those plug-in room smelly things. They give me headaches. But st least I can ask for those to be turned off. What am I going to do if people’s clothes stink? Ask them to talk to me in the nude?

  

13 thoughts on “Things I’ve learnt – clothes washing

  1. I am so glad more and more schools are formally listing ‘fragrances’ as an issue for kids in staff manuals. At best, I get hay fever symptoms from fragranced sheets and those dreadful plug-in fragrances (runny nose, watery eyes, itchy face.) At worst, I get seriously nauseous. I never wear fragrances to work and TMI as well, but I only use deodorant in hot weather. I struggle with chemical scents! It’s just a big rip-off industry built on fake needs! OK bye – off to work sans scents!!

    • My youngest brought home some smelly deodorant spray last year. I can smell it in the house 8 hours after he used it. I told him he couldn’t use it because it made me ill. His girlfriend thought it was funny (maybe she didn’t believe me and just thought I didn’t like he smell but hey, it’s my house.) Anyway, she madly sprayed it in his bedroom. I was three rooms away but still vomited. Went off my head. No more sprays!

      Enjoy work.

      • OMG! I’m not the only person who (nearly) vomits from teen boy deodorant?! I seriously thought I had something wrong with me. My 11 yo just discovered Lynx (on school camp) and I bought him some. He sprayed it all over the bathroom one night and I couldn’t sleep for 2-3 nights from the lingering smell. Then he sprayed it around his bedroom…just before I threw it in the bin. Awful stuff; it makes me so sick.

      • My son tells me we’re not the target audience. And young girls love it. I tell him I doubt it. It stinks. Cheap scent. Vomitous stuff. And that their dad never smells badly and never used any scents and has never had problems with woman, and girls when he was younger, fancying him.

  2. Still laughing about “talk to me in the nude.” I can just imagine their face.
    Totally agree about the boy deodorant body sprays. They make me feel I’ll but I haven’t won that war yet.

    • I just throw them in the bin – sprays, not boys. Problem is exacerbated as youngest works in a chemist and the managers say he has to wear the horrible scents to advertise. I tell son to tell managers that they do not understand the local market and most of the people here are older and conservative. Not Lynx wearers.

  3. Whenever I walk around the neighbourhood, I can smell the scented laundry products being pumped out of people’s clothes dryers. It has only got nice enough for clothes line drying this week, but we are due a month or two of rain! I have a scent-free workplace as do many others here, so I use only unscented soap and moisturizer on work days. I have worked hard to buy low-scent shampoos and conditioners that don’t bother anyone at work. I usually find citrus, mint or tea tree are the least offensive. I make a point of using my limited supply of scented bath products at home on the weekends. I find if I don’t use them at all, my tolerance for scents begins to decline, and I don’t want to become allergic myself due to avoiding scents. Everybody hates the teen boy sprays (it’s called Axe here) – ubiquitous! I don’t know how teachers can function in junior high schools! I was interested to hear that Axe/Lynx are made by Unilever, the same company that does the Dove “Real Beauty” for women campaign. Quite the contrast in their advertising campaigns!

    • I never thought about building my own intolerance. But you’re right, the less I smell the stuff the more I react the few times I come in contact. I don’t have a problem with people using clothes dryers but I don’t see why they have to use so much artificial scent. As to Unilever’s ads, it does make make me question whether the Dove ads are just a cynical ploy to attract more customers.

  4. Agreed! Strong detergents and adding additional smelly products to your wash is common here. I’m not a fan. I buy most products unscented or with a light scent (just found some lemon + coconut soap for our bathroom).

  5. You’ll have come to notice, I’m still catching up on commenting – stuff on all this week, whilst you were busy being on holidays – jealous!

    My holiday found me, for the first time since last holiday, wishing I had some sort of (as natural as possible) air freshener. In Japan it was the smokey smell lingering in the room, and in Phuket, the towels smelt not that fresh after washing… Just a nice linen spray, geranium scented, would have sorted it, I decided. Interestingly, I don’t use scented washing powder, I’ve tried homemade and ECO branded stuff, and thankfully both aren’t overwhleming.

    • Was the smokey smell from cigarettes? I hate they even more. And j feel grotty drying myself on towels that smell musty. Eww.

      And ahhh, the joy of teaching. Regular breaks.

Leave a Reply

