Feeling lighter!

Part of me is getting that frisson of stirring life. The warmth of today is stirring in everything. 

I feel lighter. I have bare legs for the first time in months. 

  
Yay, you might say. 

But it is too damn hot, too damn early. 

It is meant to be winter still. 

People out in shorts, smiling, saying” “Isn’t the weather beautiful!”

Fools! 

A friend asks, “Don’t you just love the feeling of spring?”

No! Cause we have two weeks of spring and go straight into unbearably hot. Hot so you can’t go for a walk. Hot so everyone hibernates in airconditioning. Hot so my feet swell. 

It is too early for spring. If it is this hot this early, what will happen in summer. 

How hot? you ask. 

  
Ignore the promise of storms. At 6pm it was still clear and 26°. The storm was put off for another hour. At 7pm it was still 24° and the storm was put off for another hour. The hour that never comes. 

The rain finally hit at 3.50am. How can I be so precise?

Because I woke up because it was too damn hot. My bed wasn’t summer-ready. 

Damn it. I’m not summer ready. 

The yay-sayers may be shouting yay, but I’m sticking with the nay-sayers. 

Down with summer!

12 thoughts on “Feeling lighter!

  1. I’m getting a sense of déjà vu…the yay-sayers…mmm…
    I’m with you, spring has sprung too early and I don’t ever have legs that are ready to face summer, like yours do with their animal print shoes! Very stylish.
    I didn’t actually feel too bad yesterday in the heat, which is unlike me. I even mowed the lawn and mulched the garden. The humidity is what really takes me down and it mustn’t have been too bad.
    The storm hit here at 3:45 am and how do I know? The symphony of rolling drums crashing overhead. The dog and two kids slept through it.
    Down with summer. Give me 22 degrees with no humidity and no hay fever.

  2. I heard on the radio yesterday that we have 10 days of winter left. It is still freezing down here! However, we have had a touch of sunlight during the days several times this week, making me feel like there is light at the end of the tunnel. Lucky you to be wearing ‘legs’ already – far too cold for that down here!

    • They can call it winter but when it hits 29° that name is meaningless. And I don’t want my legs bare. I was all set to wear a pair of leggings with my London boots and a sequin top. Too hot for that. I took a cardie with me. Uhh. Wishful thinking

  3. What gorgeous legs, my dear:) So sorry you have to bare them so early. It is currently 13.6C here in Tas. I even took my coat off briefly while gardening:)

  4. Listne, love those legs. You sure you’re not 20 and just joshing about children and north shore luxury :p My are as hairy as they come, and I’m delaying waxing til the Bali holiday in mid Sept. I hate the beautican’s. Feel ugly and then it’s all a little intimate (hold leg in air miss).

    How’s the rain today though? What a bloody mixed up city we live in!

    • Thank you. I love compliments. Vain creature that I am.

      I shave. Waxing is too painful and I’m too busy to fit another appointment in.

      I love the rain. Wish it was as hard as they predicted. Was more like English rain up our way.

  5. Yes, lovely legs! And I like the shoes too though I’d never be brave enough to wear them. It’s also 27°C here today – a perfect summer day! Can’t imagine that range of temperature in winter, whoa! Thankfully the rest of your forecast looks a bit cooler.

Leave a Reply

