Clean your shower with shampoo

Do you have some shampoo you just don’t really like? Maybe it’s a bit too harsh on your hair; maybe you just don’t like the scent. 

Well here’s a hint. 

Wash your shower screen, bathroom basin and bath with your shampoo. 

You will be amazed at how clean and shiny shampoo makes the bathroom. Better than any bathroom cleaner. 

I buy a nice, cheap, cruelty-free, Australian-made one just to clean my bathroom. 

No harsh chemicals to wreck your clothes or burn your skin. No headaches from overpowering chemicals. No lingering, chemical smell. And you can clean your shower while in the shower. Standing on shampoo doesn’t hurt your feet. 

Gentle enough to be used on human skin. What bathroom cleaner can claim that?

I have all these little hotel freebies and samples to use up but I don’t like the scent and they are a bit harsh for my bleached hair. Silly me! Why haven’t I used these instead of the one I buy especially?

So I am killing two birds – using up my stash and cleaning my bathroom. 

A bit doubtful about the cleaning power? Think you have to use bleach? Or disinfectants? Give shampoo a go and be impressed. As to needing to use bleach or disinfectants, read this, where it says it is more important to clean a surface than use disinfectant. And that’s from the Australian governments National Health and Medical Research Council. 

  

6 thoughts on “Clean your shower with shampoo

  1. Hmmm – not sure I’m on board with this one! I always thought the whole cloudy, unclean look on shower screen glass was meant to be *caused* by soap residue. Correspondingly, thought the cleaners were designed chemically to cut through soap?

    I dunno! I use Orange Power on mine every few months and it stays really clean.

    • Don’t doubt until you try. Shampoo cuts soap scum. Ye of little faith. Mr S just commented how clean our screen is. (My trick: I let things get bad so my cleaning is noticed. If you keep things clean, no one notices your work. So the shampoo cut the soap scum and was noticed. Trust me.)

  2. I clean while I’m in the shower too! Just plain water and a scrub brush first and then a follow up with a gentle bathroom cleaner. I’ll have to try shampoo!

    Some soap scum is caused by hard water – we noticed a huge decrease in how much cleaning was needed once we put in a whole house water filter.

Leave a Reply

