I have ishoes*

* Get it! Issues. And shoes. Issue with shoes. Haha. How we laughed!

Was asked in a general sense on a forum, how many shoes do you have?

Mmm! Not quite sure. Time to do an audit and wuickly before I lose interest. Or buy new ones. Or dispose of old ones. 

Half way through said audit and I paused, exhausted. 

Which tells you I have too many shoes. But as my son said when he saw them all over my bedroom floor, “You have to have a hobby.”

And all the shoes serve a purpose for different outfits, reasons, seasons, mood, purpose, context etc etc etc

  
Five pairs of low heeled or flat sandals. Can you tell I love colour?

  
I hate my toes so shoes with sling backs and covered toes are ideal for warm weather. I love the flirty look of sling backs with a kitten heel. And of course, more colour. The pink ones in the front are cloth covered. I have a matching jacket. But that’s anothe story. The coral ones in the back are new. I couldn’t resist them. And I have a dress that I had no shoes that would go with it. But now I do so I think that will be my new Christmas outfit. 

  
High heeled sandals. Yes, black and coloured ones. 

  
Work ones. Black, brown and flesh. But I can’t help myself; purple with bling! These have all been re-heeled and soled. Well-designed shoes are comfortable and well-balanced and hard to find. So it pays to have them repaired. 

  
Low and high heeled leopard prints. Gorgeous. 

  
More work shoes. More for winter. 

  
Flashy shoes. (I’m getting over the audit, hence the less carefully placed arrangement and photographing.) 

 I’m an Aussie so of course I have a couple of pairs of RM Williams but shhhh, I don’t find them comfortable at all. Too hard soled. 

  

My ski boots. I wear them when down the snow. The need for grip and warmth and stuff!

 
Old sand shoes in the back row (for jobs like gardening – ho, ho, ho – and if visiting a muddy place. Yeah, I should just toss them.)  And more hip ones to wear with jeans and casual pants. I hate the look of joggers with jeans so will only wear the ones in the front. Really with no support, they aren’t that comfortable. Still, when has comfort ever got in the way of looks. 

So that’s it. Not that’s all my shoes. I’ve just had enough for today. 

How many is that? 

33 by my tired count. 

11 thoughts on “I have ishoes*

  1. OK not to talk out of school but I really must testify here that almost the first thing you said when I met you was, “These shoes are not right for here. I’ll have to change!” I was deeply impressed that you could produce another pair of shoes from a travel bag without skipping a beat. And it was exactly as I’d imagined from reading your blog!

    I have to marvel at this collection because I literally own (I think) about 5 pairs of shoes. Maybe 7, if you count thongs (flip-flops) as footwear. I am a little awestruck. How do you store them? I would become obsessed with fancy shoe storage if I had this collection. I especially like the touch of sequins / bling!

    Two questions: actual thongs? (flip-flops) Traditional ones. None? And slippers?

    • Haha. Well they were wrong for the GC. Too warm, too contained, straight laced, boring, bland. And just too warm. Also who wears closed in shoes on the beach and by the pool?

      I do have thongs and slippers. Wait for next post. It was exhausting documenting all these so I stopped. Might finish it tonight.

      I have clear boxes. Not that they all fit so some are in shoe boxes. And all are stacked in my cupboard. Can get frustrating when looking for a particular pair.

  2. Of course now I should take another photo inventory of mine too. I have many ‘doubles’ – literally identical pairs of black ballet flats. A black and then a white pair of canvas sneakers. It’s nuts but it works for me.

  3. Didn’t see your Italian boots from Liberty’s? Or your Blundstones or UGGS? LOL! My favourite of your shoes are the black ones in the high-heels section. I guess I like chunkier heels! But the leopard slingbacks are very cool, too.

    • Need to wait for the next instalment. I definitely have uggies. Everyone in my family does! Lol. No Blundstones though. More an RM Williams elastic sided boots kind of girl. Mr S has a narrow foot and RMs come in lots of widths and they make to measure. Mr S has quite a few pairs of them.

  4. So many pretty shoes!! We lived across the street from a thrift shop when I was a kid and I loved trying on all the fancy lady’s shoes while my parents shopped. As an adult though, I rarely wear anything with a heel, actually I only have 2 pairs and one is a tiny kitten heel. My one pair of “real” heals are only about 4 cm high but hot pink. I save them for special occasions and always wear with a black dress. I’m afraid of too much color, haha!

Leave a Reply

