Map of Tassie


Driving around Tasmania, which we usually call Tassie, Mr S made the same (not funny) joke about the map of Tassie and variation on that theme. 

Oh, warning. If you find the thought of pubic hair or talk of pubic hair unbearably disgusting, don’t read on. 

Still here?

OK. So if you’re an Aussie you might know Map of Tassie is slang for the female public hair. If I have to spell it out – the shape! Got it? 

Isn’t Mr S hilarious?!? Yes, I agree not his best. 

Anyway, it got me thinking if it is still used as a slang term. What with all the deforestation young girls undertake, seems it is not. 

Talking of this topic at bookclub Christmas dinner – as you do with book club ladies, we’re a classy lot, you know – one book clubber said the landing strip is no longer seen much, it’s all off or a “tidy up”with a trim, depending on age.

How would she know?

She gets to see a fair cross section as a female GP. (See, another reason not to want to be a doctor. The first reason is all the weeping sores people ask you to look at. Actually, just touching people. Yuck!)

I’m not saying what I do or asking what you, dear readers, do. Just commenting that fashions about what is gorgeous are very fickle. And we do strange things to ourselves in the name of beauty. 

I’m having difficulty finding a way to finish this post with any meaningful or humorous or, indeed just any, closing,  so think it is best if I just end. 

6 thoughts on “Map of Tassie

  1. Omg…I never discuss this amongst my friends normally, but just recently a friend who is ‘returning to the fray’ (dating again after many years single) started the convo on what is ‘normal’ these days (as preparatory homework.)

    Consider me educated!!!! So anyway, the verdict amongst my extended peer group is fairly much what your book group person said. Our survey says Brazilian is on the decline these days (compared the de rigeur approach of the 90s) while ‘tidy up’ is generally the fashion.

    The term is still well and truly used!!!! How else do people have the vocabulary to discuss this?! I didn’t think of Tassie at all when I saw your title 🙂

    • If I hung around you and your friends I would soon bring the conversation down to crasser, and funnier, levels. I think book club never talked about such things until I joined it!

      But then it’s funny how you said you never discuss his amongst friends and then go onto saying you’ve even surveyed friends!! Come on, Fiona! You revel in the low brow topics too. Lol. (Actually is low brow the wrong term? Sounds like another euphemism.)

      • Ha! I do revel but I’m not usually the one to initiate it. I have ‘that one friend’ who always takes the conversation into new realms. She did the actual surveying on this topic – but I listened avidly to the results!

  2. Map of Tassie – that’s certainly a new one to me! I thought about this topic when I started watching Game of Thrones and all the naked female characters are bare or shaped or trimmed in very 21st century ways.

Leave a Reply

