What I read this month

Strange coincidence. I picked a novel to read and it was on a similar story as the next bookclub novel. Women as counter agents dropped behind enemy lines in World War Two. In fact the third novel I read was also set in WWII. 

The Postcard by Leah Fleming was one of those melodramatic  epic novels suited for holiday reading on the beach or by the pool. Even the cover suggested it, although it had nothing to do with the story. 

(By the by, I bought this at my second hand bookshop and left it down the snow for someone to enjoy when the weather is not suitable for heading out on the slopes.)

I started on the next novel, Nine Days by Toni Jordan, but how could I proceed when on page one it has “should of”. I know the author was trying to recreate the character’s voice but still… So I swapped it the book club novel but that was atrocious in both style and inaccurate historical detail, so I returned to Nine Days. 

It was an easy read, still not only was it stylistically superior to The Nightingale but it had a truer sense of place and time and language. Maybe Kristen Hannah should have written about what she knows? 

Set in Melbourne, each chapter in Nine Days is told by a different character  all linked by family. The thread follows the impact of WWII and trying to support family when times are tough.  

The photo used on the cover was the inspiration for the tale. It is a famous photo and so evocative of the time. 


Also got this second hand and left it down the snow. Hope someone enjoys both. 

I started on the book club choice and stopped and started and maybe gave up. 

In the meantime I read Benjamin Law’s The Family Law. Growing up in the unglamorous hinterland of the Sunshine Coast of Queensland is be interesting enough, as would being Australian-born of Chinese parents, but to be both?!? And to be gay. It’s very funny. I laughed out loud about the sad theme parks of the 80s and 90s in that area. Honey Land. I remember it. And the land of big things -Bottle. Pineapple. 

This book has been translated into French. What do the French make of tropical, sweaty, suburban Queensland? It must be extremely foreign. 

And then I returned to the atrocious bookclub novel. A fellow book clubber abandoned it. And my frequent texts confirmed for her that she made the right decision. 

But the champion I am, I perservered. 

PS: I also nearly finished two other books. But I’ll include those in “What I read in August” when I have finished them. Some books might get a post of their own. 

4 thoughts on “What I read this month

  1. But we all have such nostalgia about those sad 80s theme parks! So intrigued that they have been translated into French. I am extremely tempted to buy a copy for the French girl working with me at work for 6 months (before she continues on with her fantastic epic travel further around Australia and Asia.)

    I’m tempted by Nine Days as well…I’m sure the setting in Melbourne would be very evocative to a local while also having the historical interest.

    I haven’t read a book in ages but once we finish the final threads of our house move…I’ll be reading up a storm! Can’t wait…

    • French version is intriguing. So much would be incomprehensible, surely?

      I love reading books that do places you know well. I’m sure the Melbourne setting will speak to you.

  2. I think I would of (ha ha ha) enjoyed the Toni Jordan book as I really enjoyed her novel, “Addition”.
    Yes I’m the giver-upper-er of that awful book, The Nightingale. So pleased I didn’t buy it. The little I read reminded me of that awful tripe I tried to read by Colleen McCullough – Bittersweet.
    I’m going to read the latest book from an author I always enjoy – Liane Moriarty – Truly, Madly, Guilty. Always easy, always page turners.

Leave a Reply

