Rainforest 

There’s a primordial power, majesty and spookiness about rainforests. 

The trees are so tall and so straight. I’m in awe of their age. 

Photos of trees often don’t give you the sense of the size. But how about this one with cars and Mr S for perspective?


Mr S and I went for a walk on a skywalk, a structure that takes you into the canopy. You could see through the grate to the ground. The skywalk swayed but not as much as the cantilevered one that looked down on the creek. 

In the photo below the centre tree is growing on a small rock in the creek! How can it be supported with such a small root base? It’s like it is balancing on a ball. Can you see the base right down the bottom middle of the photo? The second photo gives a closer view of the tree balancing on a ball! 


A second walk through another section of rainforest was in order. I love the shapes of the strangler figs, the strange growth on trees, the burnt out sections of trees and the enormity of trees. 

The roots formed a natural sand pit or wading pool

The roots always seem too shallow to support a massive tree


I was on the hunt to see a platypus in the wild. The sign said the area was restricted to protect the platypuses. But obviously platypuses don’t read and didn’t know they were meant to be there. We saw none in the waterhole even though it was just before sunset. 


Let me tell you, a rainforest at dusk is a spooky place. The rustling in the lead cover by unseen things, the strange squawking. We hightailed it out before it was totally dark and headed to view the sunset over the caldera.   


It’s a magical place. The rich volcanic soil (that you can see in the photos with the horses) makes the mountain perfect for gardeners. My mother’s garden grows wild in a tame way. (Wish my garden would grow the tame way! Lol) 


It’s a perfect spot to read, and snooze, and day dream, and chat, and mindlessly surf the Internet, and watch the birds in and around the bird feeder. It’s strange how quickly the days pass when you are relaxing and going at a much slower pace

(Oh and apropos of nothing to do with rainforests, I bought some Queensland-y clothes. Bright and light and colourful. As two items had tiny holes in them, I got them free!!! Apologies for my poor styling. I do these clothes no justice. The one with the pink fringe is a shawl-like open cloak-y thing. So unlike me. But I will waft around wearing it. The sequinned top is so me. I know, I know. I am meant to be decluttering and saving for my year off and my travel and my renos.)

4 thoughts on “Rainforest 

  1. Oh wow – I love your photos! We went to the same Skywalk in April when we were in Queensland. It’s such a magical place and we were so glad we went there. Great to have the memories flooding back on such a cold day here in Melbourne. Dare I say it though…we saw spiders that seemed to be as big as our face. Tropical spiders. We high-tailed it out of there at dusk as well.

    I love your new clothes. It’s amazing how bright colours are so infectious in Queensland. But what is Mr S wearing? Surely not tie-dyed?

  2. Amazing trees, roots, waterfalls, sunsets, summery clothes 🙂 I would love that. Even walking on the sky grate! I have seen redwoods and sequoias (temperate rain forests) but never tropical.

    • I’ve seen a temperate rainforest in Tasmania. Different trees, obviously, to northern hemisphere. Walking in the rainforest in the wet is not as much fun – leeches coming up from the soil and dropping from the trees!!!

      • I had to laugh when I first visited a rain forest and found myself thinking, “What’s with all this rain?” – walking through the forest in the wet. And there were a lot of slugs!

Leave a Reply

