The best and worst of a Sydney weekend

Best: On Saturday, I went to the theatre. Saw A Flea in Her Ear. A funny romp put on by the Sydney Theatre Company, at the Drama Theatre in the Opera House. I travelled in by train. Great play. Great location. So easy to get there by public transport – no worries about traffic or parking. 

Worst: The opera bar, beneath the Opera House foreshore is crowded, noisy and overpriced. The food was ordinary.  

The Worst of The Worst: the toilets are disgusting. Aussie won’t pay for public toilets and although the toilets are in the bar area, they are really public toilets. But really when the bar charges $25 for a cocktail and $10 for their cheap house bubbles, they should provide a higher standard of toilet cleaning. You need loos when drinking. Honestly they were the worst toilets I have used in Australia in a long time. Overflowing sanitary bins, vomitous smell of urine. I have decided I will not buy drinks from there again. 

Best: On Sunday I went to the beach. It was beautiful. With the fresh salt air and pounding ocean, you feel alive. 


Much goings on to watch with a surf competition. 


I love the free beach pool. Reminiscent of a more egalitarian time. 


It’s exhilarating to watch the tide coming in and the waves hitting the rocks and the ocean side of the pool. The water rushing in keeps the pool clean. 



So much to see. People fishing. Surfing. Having fun. 


And not crowded at all. As you can see in the view of the beach below. (Curl Curl for those who are interested.)


Worst: Yes, there’s a “worse” thing about the beach. No, it’s not the sand, though I do hate how it gets into bodily crevices that even though they don’t like sand, they hold onto it. 

Its blue bottles. There were lots of them. And warning signs up. 


I didn’t swim. Not because of the blue bottles. The waves were too rough. Also it wasn’t hot enough for me. The water was a tad chilly and I only venture into the water when it is almost too hot for me to go into the sun. Of course, Mr S went for a dip. And no, he wasn’t stung. 

I’ve actually never been stung by blue bottles. Probably an indication of my cautious nature. If I see them on the beach, I’m out of the water. 

Not good: I am sunburnt on the back of my neck. You’d think I’d have learnt my lesson by now! But no. The wide neck dress exposed skin that hasn’t seen the sun for a long while. And I wore a cap, not a wife brimmed hat. And I didn’t put on any sunscreen. Should have worn a top with a collar. Or put on the sun screen!!!

Still, the ledger has come out heavily on the positive side. This has been a good weekend. 

How was yours?

4 thoughts on “The best and worst of a Sydney weekend

  1. I absolutely love seeing Sydney beach photos! Brings Sydney back to life for me and all the memories come flooding back.

    We also got sunburnt this weekend (first time in years!) The sun just snuck up on us given that we’ve barely finished winter and seem to have skipped spring. Then bam! 38C. Back to raining again today though.

    I have been stung by a bluebottle (all of us in our family have – silly Victorians plunging naively straight in without checking!) and it wasn’t fun. But it’s a case of degrees. If you just get one or two tendrils it’s fine (as happened to me.) If you cop a lot of them it’s meant to be very painful.

  2. What was the temperature on your beach day? I think we only have stingless jellies here. Guess the pesky ones don’t like the 10-degree ocean water 🙂 When I went to university, our theatre dept did a production of A Flea in Her Ear; classic farce. I should see a professional production of it.

    • It was definitely a very physical production. The actors must have lost so much weight with all the running around.

      I think the temp was mid 20s. The water was about 18°. When it is not hot you don’t realise you are getting burnt.

Leave a Reply

