How are the margins going?

One term in with my margin ruling, and my absence from blithering away on my blog may indicate how well I’ve done at blending work and LIFE. 

It’s actually been the most stressful term I’ve had. Ridiculous bureaucratic changes with Orwellian doublespeak and unrealistic timelines; “tools” that don’t work and are introduced without training. Training for other things that is provided by people reading scripts but who can’t answer questions that are off-script. I’m not the sort of person who can smile wryly and say it is what it is and just work around inane bureaucracy. I have to point out pompous, stupid, pointless decisions and processes. 

So yeah. I haven’t really cut back on hours but I have ruled a clear margin. No work emails at home. No work emails on the weekend. No work emails after hours. Full stop. Period. 

And I have noticed the difference. 

My week at work has varied from 42 hours to over 55 hours. It not just the hours, of course. It’s the stress of decision making, leading change, dealing with above mentioned idiotic bureaucracy, and the pace of work. And naturally, I don’t stop thinking about how to manage things and go over plans in my head after work. 

But the other thing is I have made sure I have done the things that sustain me and build me up. Things I enjoy. 

So enough of the whinging, I will be back to review the term’s fun. 

8 thoughts on “How are the margins going?

  1. I hear you and repeat “That was the most stressful term I’ve had!” for all the same reasons you’ve stated. And, there is NO work-life balance, but finding time to fit in more enjoyable pursuits and take care of ourselves is a MUST. I have also stopped emails at home JUST so my ‘safe’ place is not filled with more distress. I feel physically sick as I reach to click on work emails to read them. I’d rather feel like that AT work and NOT in my own home.

    • Hi Anne. Glad to hear the “no emails at home” is growing. I had to check my work account for a private email and I felt that feeling of dread, knowing there’s by things I couldn’t but help looking at and then would be annoyed.

      I wonder if the madness will stop or just increase in pace as the bureaucrats bow to the policitians and spin doctors?

  2. I think work is actually getting even more bureaucratic and paper-driven than ever before…which everyone would have thought impossible. It’s so insane. I hope it is appreciated that you do speak up and try to point out the stupid, senseless elements! Those work hours are getting towards reasonable and it’s a great move to put boundaries around the email.

    It is so easy to look only at the things that have to change and to forget about the things that build and sustain. Looking forward to hearing about what you have been up to this term!

    • I wonder who is pushing this universal paper “accountability” that often has little benefit to students? My holidays continue to be beautiful and for that I am truely thankful for my job!

  3. Not being a teacher myself I don’t work in terms – but these last few weeks between Christmas and Easter have been long and difficult and it is the like the world has speeded up a notch and becoming even more demanding. Everyone wants answers to emails before I have even received the email! Going by some of my recently retired friends there is no let up in retirement! I am enjoying a few days off over Easter but I know there is a heap of chores and tasks to do here at home. Home has become the little bit of time left over after the end of work.

    • It is to escape chores and the feeling we should be doing something, that Mr S and I go away for our breaks. This break has been so restful. The household chores and the work from work will be there for us when we go home but for now we’ve escapees.

      No let up on retirement? That’s a worry.

  4. Sorry you’ve had a rough go of it. It really is important to speak up against inanity…I hope it will start a groundswell of rebellion 🙂 I look forward to hearing about the good stuff, too. Happy Easter!

    • I’m known amount my colleagues as one who speaks out bravely and gets to the heart. One of my emails prompted an apology of sorts from a head bureaucrat to all at my level in the state. And I played a small part in getting another idiotic “tool” pulled.

      I’d rather not have to agitate for this and focus on the work I actually love – making young people feel valued and helping them get the most out of schooling.

Leave a Reply

