New England adventure cont.

We don’t have many deciduous trees in Australia. We’re not used to seeing evergreens, especially on mass. So the yellows and reds of deciduous trees are not only beautiful, they’re unexpected. 

With the cold climate of the New England area and the early settlers’ wealth and longing for England, it is no wonder that they planted non-native trees. 

It is slightly early for the trees to be changing but the yellow on the golden poplars was striking. This was our first autumn trip though New England; the autumnal colour was an unplanned bonus.

We saw some beautiful views. Didn’t capture them but luckily for the Internet I found some pics. This was the entrance to a farm from the highway. 


Look at the start of the change to red on the vine of the little church. (It is my photo this time.) I googled it and there some strikingly red shots. We might have to go back one mid autumn!

 

We stopped at Inverell to buy milk for our tea. (Mr S had previously filled out thermos with boiling water at the guesthouse so we could stop for our obligatory cup of tea in a park.) Being the day before Good Friday, the supermarket was busy. Now supermarkets are not the best place to spend time (unless you’re overseas and want to try different foods), especially the day before Good Friday, but we really had to escape and quickly. This was not our sort of place; full of not our sort of people. Interesting buildings, though. 

We drove around town to find a park, we stopped at Jubilee Park. We always stop at parks with tables and benches. And the bench here is exactly why I pack a table cloth. God knows what the stuff was. Quick, hide the gunk! I realised this was not the park I wanted to stop at. There’s one further on the highway with extensive gardens. Oh well, next time!

Jubilee Park rotunda


The town ducks were not interested in my bread scraps, flying away when I tossed some to them. Maybe they were wild migrating ducks?

Ducks on the creek bed

Ducks flying away from me


Or maybe the ducks were just wary of sneaky cats?


The showground was surrounded by a hug fence. Ag shows would have been truely impressive in a time of little other entertainment. Probably still pull a big crowd for different horse shows. Hey, who doesn’t love still the woodchoppers? I captured them at the Sydney Royal Easter Show the week before. 

Woodchopping contest at Easter Show


As we crossed the boarder into Queensland, the Easter traffic picked up. But still nothing compared to the poor buggers just leaving Sydney. 

View from our car on New England Highway in Qld


The steep road up to the top of Tambourine Mountain took us to our Easter hibernation. The holiday makers, among which we don’t count ourselves, can scurry about. We’ll be taking it slow and doing little. 
How to end a road trip? With mum’s home-made, slow-cooked, hearty lentil soup.  

9 thoughts on “New England adventure cont.

  1. Such a beautiful part of the world. Love the change to autumn leaves when they can be found in Australia. Do you know what distance it is all up from Sydney to Mount Tambourine?

    • Google maps tell me it is 865km via the Pacific Highway. And 9 hours 34 minutes drive. It use to take longer but the highway bypasses so many towns. Via the New England it is 915km, 10hr45min.

    • Haha! I’ve always called it Mt Tambourine. And had trouble with the GPS. My aunt told me this visit that it is no long called Mt Tambourine but Tambourine Mountain. Still doesn’t feel right to me.

  2. Is that Gostwyck?? When I saw the title for this post on Bloglovin’ I thought “I should have mentioned Gostwyck in my last reply!”

    I lived near Inverell for a few years, but don’t remember Jubilee Park. We used to like to picnic at the river behind Coles. And by picnic I mean my mum’s sort of picnic which is “eat food in the car while watching the world go by”. Perhaps that’s why I don’t remember a beautiful rotunda like that!

    Another “Mt. Tamborine” person here! 🙂

    • Yes, that’s Gostwyck. Remiss of me not to name it.

      I hate sitting in the car eating. I always have a picnic blanket in the car. And pack the same tablecloth on all road trips.

  3. How dare those ducks! How very dare they not eat your bread and fly away? I’m still laughing at your photo caption “Ducks flying away from me”. Also “not our sort of people” and “not the park I wanted to stop at.”
    At least there was restorative lentil soup at the end of the day.

    • I only realised it wasn’t the park I wanted when I relooked at my google search.

      I originally wrote something more judge-y about the people. But edited so to not offend. No doubt people point to us with our tablecloth and bone china mug and scoff. I get that we’re not other people’s sort of people either.

    • It was quite funny the ducks repeatedly flew away from me. Down the creek. Didn’t they know I had lovely bread? They clearly weren’t interested in it at all. It just floated away.

Leave a Reply

