My minestrone 

This soup was divine. Mr S had two bowls straight up when I made it. He loved it too.

I combined two recipes: from my mate, Jamie, and the Australian Woman's Weekly and tweaked it myself.

Ingredients

  • 1 clove of garlic
  • 1 leek
  • 2 carrots
  • Celery – a few bits
  • Fennel bulb. Try it. Adds great subtle flavour to the soup. I forgot to put it on the shopping list so didn't get it for this week's pot. Sad. 😦
  • stalks from a bunch of parsley  (I often have parsley for something else and don't want to waste the stalks.)
  • dried rosemary 
  • tin of chopped tomatoes 
  • tomato paste
  • tin of cannellini beans or whatever beans you like
  • 1 litre Campbell's real beef stock
  • fresh grated Parmesan
  • Some pasta – shell usually but sometimes whatever

Method

  1. Heat a big saucepan with olive oil. Chop garlic and leek. And put in pan. While this fries…..
  2. Chop carrots, celery, fennel bulb and parsley stalks. Put in pan and sprinkle with as much rosemary as you want. Stir and let fry for a bit. I put in a few celery leaves too. They disappeared but no doubt added depth of flavour.
  3. Pour in 400g tin chopped tomatoes and squeeze of tomato paste. Maybe just over 1 tablespoon or more. Mix up. I put some water in the tin and squish it around and pour in pan so I get all the dregs of tomato flavour.
  4. Pour in stock. I half filled the stock container with water, squished around and poured the water onto the saucepan so I got all the flavour out. (I can't abide waste!!!) Pour the tin of beans and the liquid from the tin as well. (I used to rinse beans but Jamie says to use the liquid. For some reason I thought it was bad for you. Don't know where I got that thought. Anyway I don't bother rinsing now and have suffered no ill effect.) Add some extra water as needed.
  5. Simmered for 45 min.
  6. Added some shell pasta and cooked for further 10 min.

When you serve the soup, sprinkled some grated Parmesan over the soup. It gives the soup piquancy. 

Yummo!!!!

9 thoughts on “My minestrone 

  1. I was also taught to rinse the contents of cans. Assumed it was to get rid of preservatives or extra salt.
    Sounds yummy. My go to soup is leek and zucchini (includes potato, celery, curry and chicken stock)

Leave a Reply

