Cauliflower, potato, pea and red lentil curry

Cooked this tonight. Found the recipe I used before but as usual, I made the recipe my own.

God it was a good brew.

Ingredients

  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves, chopped
  • Bunch of coriander
  • Curry. I used two or three teaspoons of Keans curry powder, a generous sprinkling of ground coriander, and even more garum masala
  • 1 cup and bit of dried red lentils
  • 4 cups of vegetable stock. I use Campbell's real stock
  • Whole cauliflower, cut up into florets
  • 3 or 4 small potatoes, peeled and chopped into quarters
  • Tin of chopped tomatoes
  • Big squirt of tomato paste, about 2 or 3 tablespoons
  • Several handfuls of frozen peas
  • I also used left over and wilting celery, finely chopped so it would disappear because Mr S doesn't like it. But he picked it straight away. OK, I didn't chop very finely.
  • Natural yoghurt, to serve

Method

  1. Heat oil in large pan. Add onion, garlic, and celery. (The latter is optional.) Fry for a bit until onions soften. About 5 minutes.
  2. Add curry powder. Fry up a bit.
  3. Add lentils and stir so lentils are coated in all the curry goodness.
  4. Add stock, cauliflower, potatoes, tomato paste, tin tomatoes l.
  5. Simmer for about 25 minutes with lid on.
  6. Add peas and simmer for about 5 minutes.
  7. I turned off the heat and took off lid so it would thicken.

It has to be served sprinkled with chopped coriander leaves and thick Greek yoghurt.

I wish we had some Naan bread. That would have improved on perfection.

11 thoughts on “Cauliflower, potato, pea and red lentil curry

    • He didn’t mind the celery but said it was the first thing he tasted. I’m not a fan of celery myself but when it’s in a curry or stew, it does disappear. I would love to taste yours.

      • I think it is a pommy thing. And thus Aussie. My mother never used it. Neither did my Oma. And they are/were brilliant cooks and soup makers. Jamie Oliver uses celery a lot.

  1. That looks delish!! And I’ve just realised what a backlog of posts I have missed – I get to do lots of backreading over coffee over the next few days! 😀

Leave a Reply

