Archive | August 8, 2017

Ditch the coffee

Subtitled: Saving for a whole year off – income cut, not lifestyle cut

I don't drink coffee. I hate most things to do with coffee drinking in cafes. 

I hate the noise. I so hate the noise!!! All that banging and steaming. It is so uncivilised and stress-inducing. My shoulders tighten at the thought. 

I also don't get why people want a daily drink, an expensive daily drink, from cardboard with a plastic lid. 

Coffee drinking is something Mr S and I have never succumbed too. So luckily we don't waste our money on it. We never started so we don't have to cut it. 

We do have our own weaknesses. We like drinking tea. It's much calmer. More civilised. An altogether more refined beverage. 

Yet we hardly ever buy it when out. Most people can't seem to make it properly. Especially baristas. They don't give tea the respect it deserves. Lukewarm water that doesn't let the tea draw. Incorrect storage of the tea so it absorbs the odour of coffee and herbs and herbal teas. I've even had milk served warm from being steamed by the coffee machine. Yuck!

But just as coffee drinkers like going out and grabbing a coffee, Mr S and I like drinking tea outdoors – in parks, in bushland, in gardens.

Luckily there's this thing called the thermos. We (or more precisely Mr S – it's his job to make the thermos of tea) make a thermos of tea at home. And then we take it with us. With my fine bone china mugs safely wrapped in a tea towel. 

Voilà. Tea as we like it. In new surroundings. A nice outing with a bikkie. If you have time, pack a boiled egg, mayo, lettuce and buttered fresh bread and you have a picnic. 

Who needs a cafe?

So Tip number 4: switch to tea, and drink your tea at home or take your own tea and have a little picnic.

As an added bonus, if you give up the coffee, not only will you save money but your breath won't stink and you will taste the subtleties in food and you won't be adding all those horrid unbiodegradable coffee cups in the environment. 

Of course this tip won't work if you say, "But coffee is my lifestyle and I wouldn't want to cut it out." Or if you hate tea or don't own a thermos. Or maybe you say my one daily coffee on a weekday isn't that expensive. $5 X 5 days X 40 (for most months of the year) X 4 years = $4,000.

And that's another fortnight off for me! You drink the coffee; I'll take the fortnight in my Year Off.

