Archive | January 12, 2020

My must dos in San Fran

I had four must do things when we went down to San Francisco for three nights. The plan was to have lunch with Mr S’s uncle for his 85th birthday and celebrate New Year’s Eve in this beautiful city.

1. Walk down Lombard Street. Tick. Did that. Walked up first. Then down. With crowds of other people.

2. Catch the cable car. Tick. Did that. I actually didn’t know there was a difference between a tram and a cable car. Turns out there are only three cable cars left in the world – Wellington NZ, Hong Kong and San Fran. And I’ve been on every one. The cable car we went on in San Fran was from Melbourne. How good is that?

3. Walk across the Golden Gate Bridge. Tick. Did it. Amazing structure. But very crowded on the New Year’s Day we strolled across. So crowded, and the path was shared with bikes, and pedestrians bikes could go both ways, I am amazed we only saw one accident. The noise of the cars was horrendous. Still, it was amazing. Loved the models with the explanations of the engineering.

How thick are the cables?

It was really sunny and warm. Don’t think I’d like to do it in summer.

4. Visit Haight and Ashbury. Didn’t do it. Something for next time.

Mr S added to the list: drive down the step streets used in the movie Bullet. Tick done. I was freaking out. It was steep!!

View out the back window.

The lunch didn’t eventuate (illness and family conflict) and, as I wrote yesterday, we ended up spending most of New Year’s Eve. But I did get to do most of my must dos and some great shopping.