I can see clearly now…

20130827-221500.jpg

It’s pretty boring here. If you’re looking for a fail, or a monumental struggle, you’re in the wrong spot.

My clothing diet has continued with relentless success. Some might say I have got into the habit of not buying. Perhaps. A friend did say, “Oh, you’re doing your thing.” My thing being not shopping.

And the benefits that have come from my thing (beyond the extra money)?

  • My wardrobes and cupboards are tidier and more organised, so I can see what I want more easily. I have only had one pull-everything-out-and-toss-everything-on-the-floor episode in the past few months. Looking for a particular shirt that was hiding, don’t you know. But generally I have been amazed at how tidy my cupboards and wardrobes have remained. Makes getting dressed so much easier in the work day morning.
  • I can see what clothes I need and really want; I can see the gaps in my wardrobe. I now know I could do with a few crossover tops with mid-length sleeves. They are flattering on me and a couple more would extend the wearing of my certain skirts and pants. But, never fear, I will wait until next year, unless I see one that really hits the mark. I have no desire to go mad and shop till I drop.
  • My bedroom floor is tidier as I have room in my cupboard and fewer items “resting”. (You know resting? Too dirty to go back in the cupboard but too clean for a wash. Well that’s the argument used for one too lazy to tidy and with no room to put the clothes away.) And I can see straight under my bed and to the other side!!! There are no storage containers with out of season clothes.
  • I now know one new item can lift a host of old clothes. I bought a pair of shoes a few months back (medically necessary – they were flats for work because of my bad back) and the difference they are making to some clothes is remarkable. I have created whole new outfits around the shoes. I am wearing clothes that I haven’t worn for years and I am wearing ditems together that I previously didn’t. The new shoes just lift the whole look. And it isn’t just me. Others have commented on how good the outfits are, asking if they are new clothes or if I have a new look. And a friend wanted to go out and buy the same shoes. Such is the power of buying the perfect pair of shoes – different, daring, comfortable, perfect fit. And not buying something on a whim or because you “need” to buy something and “these will do”.
  • On the whole, this is proving a positive and easy challenge. Less stuff coming in the house, more stuff going out. My house is definitely getting leaner. (And there is less packaging coming into the house, so I don’t have to worry about all the fancy shopping bags that I never felt I could toss, but that’s a whole other story.)

    20130827-222152.jpg

    6 thoughts on “I can see clearly now…

    1. Just found your blog a few days ago. Well done on your No shopping rule and sticking to it and also to your sorting out/decluttering which sounds wonderful. I don’t have a problem with shopping or too many clothes because I HATE shopping ( the result of being a 3 year old dragged round city centre stores with 2 teenaged sisters in a time when teenagers were not catered for, the early 1950’s!) but I need to sort out cupboards, kitchen, laundry, bedrooms etc where “things” have accumulated. You have inspired me. Thank you!

      • Thanks for dropping by and thank you for the lovely comments, Linda.

        I too remember the horror of being dragged around shopping centres as a child. Hasn’t stopped me liking shopping. But I have also enjoyed my 8 months off. Can’t believe I have so much stuff to still declutter, even after 8 months of not bringing in new stuff and decluttering one thing a day.

    2. I remember how hard you thought the ‘no shopping’ project would be at the beginning of the year. And you are killing it! I love that feeling of being able to plan a perfect piece which will increase the usefulness of what I already own. So satisfying when you finally see it on a rack…

    3. Great work! I find no shopping ok, but I don’t think I’m at Jo’s zen that everything matches and one new addition adds so much. I suppose it’s cause I do black and navy and have hang ups about them going together!

      Agreed, I wish cheesecake was as easy to abstain from!

      • Thanks. Don’t think I’ll ever get to Jo’s level but I am happy not mindlessly adding to my clothing pile.

        I agree with you about navy and black. Not too good a look and not one I’d chose.

    Leave a comment