Archive | October 23, 2019

Fairy tale land

Thirty years ago, I was in Germany, staying with my mother’s cousin. She was going on a day coach trip to the Harz mountains. I went along, as did Albert, the son of my mother’s cousin.

Sitting on the coach, the average age of most of the day trippers was probably 80. I was in my early 20s, as was Albert. There was much whispering between Albert and his mother and next thing I knew it had been decided that I would probably rather spend the day exploring with Albert by car than on a coach with elderly day trippers. So we alighted and had a day driving around. I don’t remember much more of that day except Albert tried to teach me to drive his manual car. Manual and on the wrong side of the road!

I was fine until we hit a roundabout. Bloody hell. Which way??? Straight up onto the footpath was my answer.

I always wondered what I missed out on by not going on the coach trip.

When I was researching places to visit for this trip, I found a number of Harz villages and small towns on list of the most beautiful villages in Germany. Further research suggested that there are few English speaking tourists in this area and quite a few local people do not speak English.

So the Harz made it on my itinerary.

And I am so glad it did.

Our apartment was in the pedestrian zone of Wernigerode, a beautiful village that was full of German daytrippers enjoying ice creams and beers and wine and food while sunning themselves in the town square. Ah!!! That’s what I missed thirty years ago.

The Rathaus 🐀

The Rathaus has all manner of carvings, including types of workers of the area. Apparently some of carvings earnt the ire of the good town leaders.

Towering over the village is the Schloss, as it should be. From its vantage position the nobility can look down on the peasants.

Looking eerily haunting in the dark sky

Many of the buildings were heavily decorated.

Built in 1674

Used to be a blacksmith. Hence the decorations.

Now a museum. Was a mill. The water affected the foundations and so the leaning

At night, the narrow streets lined with half-timbered houses look like something out of a Harry Potter movie.

I saw quite a few birds of prey – falcons I think. Most exciting of all when walking through the town was one falcon that was wheeling over the top of us and calling out. Unlike a sound I have heard before.

The first night we were there was Sunday night and all the restaurants on the main streets were full – no table if you hadn’t reserved. So we ate takeaway. Can’t imagine what it is like in summer!

The next night we found an “Asian” restaurant – it had Japanese, Chinese, Thai and a few other south-east Asian meals. We were very pleasantly surprised. As well as being a quarter of the cost of all the German restaurants, the food was delish! So to the surprise of the restaurant owners, we came back the next night. The final night we ate at another Asian restaurant – not as good but still better than paying $$$$ for sausages and mash.

My desire to go to German places off the usual foreign tourist route doesn’t really extend to eating German dinners every night!

Haven’t finished with the Harz. I will have two more posts on our adventure here.